Photo Flash: LA Drama Critics Circle Awards Announce Winners

March 21
10:46 PM 2012

The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle has announced the winners and special awards for excellence in Los Angeles and Orange County theatre for the year 2011. The 43rd Annual Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards ceremony took place Monday, March 19 at A Noise Within in Pasadena, and was co-hosted by Jason Graae and Lesli Margherita.

Check out the photos from the awards below!

The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle was founded in 1969. It is dedicated to excellence in theatrical criticism, and to the encouragement and improvement of theatre in Greater Los Angeles.

The 2011 voting members of the LADCC consisted of: F. Kathleen Foley (L.A. Times), Shirle Gottlieb (Gazette Newspapers,, Hoyt Hilsman (Back Stage, The Huffington Post), Mayank Keshaviah (L.A. Weekly), Amy Lyons (Back Stage, L.A. Weekly), Dany Margolies (Back Stage), Terry Morgan (Variety), Steven Leigh Morris (L.A. Weekly), David C. Nichols (L.A. Times, Back Stage), Sharon Perlmutter (, Melinda Schupmann (Back Stage,, Madeleine Shaner (Park La Brea News/Beverly Press, Back Stage), Les Spindle (Back Stage), Bob Verini (Variety), and NeAl Weaver (Back Stage). Joining for 2012 is Pauline Adamek (L.A. Weekly).

A list of winners can be found at here.

Jennifer Pollono accepts the Production Award for Small Engine Repair with members of the company, as Bob Verini (LADCC) and Gregory Itzin (4-time LADCC recipient) look on.

Bart DeLorenzo of Evidence Room accepts the Production Award for Margo Veil, with members of the company.

David Wiener (Extraordinary Chambers) accepts the Ted Schmitt Award for the world premiere of an outstanding new play, as Lori Thimsen of award sponsor Samuel French, Inc. and Mayank Keshaviah (LADCC) look on.

Charlayne Woodard (The Night Watcher) accepts the Solo Performance award as Seamus Dever and Sharon Perlmutter (LADCC) look on.

Yvette Tucker and Salvatore Vasallo perform, in honor of choreographer Lee Martino, recipient of the Joel Hirschhorn Award for outstanding achievement in musical theatre.

Sean Branney of Theatre Banshee accepts the McCulloh Award for Revival for The Crucible, with members of the company.

Wren T. Brown of Ebony Repertory Theatre accepts the McCulloh Award for Revival for A Raisin in the Sun, with members of the company.

Hosts Jason Graae and Lesli Margherita perform.

Sam Anderson (Blackbird) and L. Scott Caldwell (A Raisin in the Sun) present an award, as David C. Nichols (LADCC) looks on.

Los Angeles THEATER Stories | Shows  Like BWW LA  Follow BWW LA

About the Author

Get Author Alerts


HAIRSPRAY LIVE! Latest - You Can't Stop the Tweets! Broadway's Best & Brightest Weigh in on HAIRSPRAY LIVE!
The MeshugaNutcracker! in BroadwayThe MeshugaNutcracker!
Gindi Auditorium at American Jewish University
(Runs 12/17 - 1/1)
The King and I in BroadwayThe King and I
Pantages Theatre
(Runs 12/13 - 1/21)
In the Balance in BroadwayIn the Balance
(Runs 11/11 - 12/11)
CYT Christian Youth Theater San Diego
(Runs 5/27 - 6/4)
Other People's Money in BroadwayOther People's Money
Pico Playhouse
(Runs 12/9 - 12/18)


Save $$$ on Tickets to:
Backstage with Richard Ridge
JERSEY BOYS' Mark Ballas
Backstage Bite
BACKSTAGE BITE Thanksgiving Special!
Turning the Tables
BWW TV LAST MINUTE with Randy Rainbow Congas to ON YOUR FEET!
  Chewing the Scenery with Randy Rainbow
Randy Rainbow Checks in w/ Liza to Chat HAIRSPRAY, Pence & More!
SHUFFLE ALONG Reunites at Broadway Sessions!
Advertisement AdvertisementAdvertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement