LA Chamber Orchestra's 2012-13 Season Announced

LA Chamber Orchestra's 2012-13 Season Announced

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra (LACO) announces its 2012-13 season, its 44th, featuring a compelling mix of beloved masterpieces and genre-defying premieres from firmly established and notable up-and-coming composers programmed by Jeffrey Kahane, one of the world's foremost conductors and pianists, who marks his 16th season as the Orchestra's music director.

Kahane – hailed by critics as "visionary" and "a conductor of uncommon intellect, insight and musical integrity" with "undeniable charisma" – leads five of seven "Orchestral Series" concerts this season from the podium and keyboard at the Alex Theatre in Glendale and UCLA's Royce Hall, and also appears as both as conductor and in a solo recital on the "Baroque Conversations" series at Zipper Hall.

Among numerous season highlights across four diverse series are two world premieres including one by Benjamin Wallfisch, a "major new name on the new music horizon" (BBC Radio 3) who conducts the premiere of his own Violin Concerto written for Tereza Stanislav, who celebrates ten years as LACO assistant concertmaster this season. The other by LACO Composer-in-Residence Andrew Norman, is presented as part of the Orchestra's unique "Sound Investment" commissioning program, initiated to engage LACO audiences in developing new works. A second piece by Norman, The Great Swiftness, inspired by an Alexander Calder sculpture, also receives its West Coast premiere, as does James Matheson's True South, commissioned by New York Philharmonic with influences ranging from Judas Priest to Nietzsche. Also presented are a range of show-stopping concertos spotlighting LACO's virtuosic musicians, the US premiere of Hugo Gonzalez-Pioli's The Love of Zero; a performance of Shostakovich's Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major, Op. 107, featuring cello phenom Alisa Weilerstein, recipient of the 2011 MacArthur Foundation "Genius Grant"; and a celebration of Mozart's 257th birthday led by internationally acclaimed conductor Helmuth Rilling with the USC Thornton Chamber Singers.

Reflecting LACO's keen artistic sensibilities and technical acumen across musical genres, the repertoire runs the gamut from the American vernacular with John Adams' Son of Chamber Symphony; the original 1924 version of Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue and Copland's 1944 version of Appalachian Spring Suite; to such time tested masterworks as Mozart's Requiem in D minor, K. 626; Beethoven's Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36; Ravel's Piano Concerto in G major; Dvo?ák's Serenade for Winds, Op. 44; selections from Handel's Water Music; Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050; and Beethoven's Coriolan Overture, Op. 62.

"There's great richness and a wonderfully collaborative aspect to the season's offerings," says Kahane. "I look forward to celebrating the artistry of so many of my amazing colleagues - who are being spotlighted in a fascinating array of challenging and beautiful concertos."

Noting that he enjoys long and close personal relationships with some of the guest artists, Kahane says, "Helmuth Rilling, who was recently recognized with the 2011 Karajan Prize, one of the music world's highest honors, is one of the central figures in my own musical life. I am one of many conductors for whom Helmuth has been a role model and a mentor. It is always a joy and a privilege for us to bring him to LACO, an orchestra full of musicians whom he knows and loves so well. I've also had the delightful pleasure of knowing Alisa Weilerstein since she was a small child and observing her evolution over the course of 20 years from a phenomenal child prodigy into one of the world's greatest living cellists."

Deeply committed to nurturing the next generation of gifted artists and composers, the Orchestra presents violinist Augustin Hadelich in his LACO debut, as well as works by highly regarded emerging composers Anna Clyne, described as "dazzlingly inventive" (Time Out New York) and Hugo Gonzalez-Pioli, a recent graduate of USC's prestigious Scoring for Motion Pictures and Television program whose bassoon concerto with a short silent film receives its US premiere on LACO's "Orchestral Series."

LACO's popular annual "Discover" concert at Pasadena's Ambassador Auditorium features an in-depth examination by Kahane that sheds new light on Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58, one of the pinnacles of the piano literature and a piece Kahane has performed more than any other in his career.

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
'S Wonderful in Los Angeles'S Wonderful
(Runs 4/4 - 4/20)
(Runs 3/4 - 4/20)
Jesus Christ Superstar in Los AngelesJesus Christ Superstar
(Runs 4/4 - 4/20)
All Shook Up
(Runs 4/17 - 4/26)
Once Upon a Mattress in Los AngelesOnce Upon a Mattress
(Runs 4/24 - 4/26)
Footloose in Los AngelesFootloose
(Runs 4/16 - 4/27)

More Shows | Add a Show

Message Board