GUYS AND DOLLS, SPAMALOT and More Highlight Weathervane Playhouse's 2013 Summer Season

Weathervane-Playhouse-Announces-2013-Summer-Season-20010101

Weathervane Playhouse presents a diverse collection of comedic plays and Tony award-winning musicals for their 2013 summer season. The season will take audiences on a roller-coaster ride of slapstick comedy and Tony award-winning musicals spanning six decades with "Guys and Dolls", Thursday May 30th - Saturday June 8th; "Around the World in 80 Days", Thursday, June 13th - Saturday, June 22nd; "Oliver", Thursday June 27th - Saturday July 6th; "Moon Over Buffalo", Thursday July 11th - Saturday July 20th; "Monty Python's Spamalot", Thursday July 25th - Saturday August 3rd. Located at 100 Price Road in Newark, Ohio, Weathervane Playhouse is celebrating their 45th consecutive season.

Weathervane Playhouse's Board of Directors is thrilled to bring to the stage a combination of comedic plays and classic musicals. Building on a long history of award-winning performances and productions, Weathervane Playhouse's summer season is sure to delight theatre-goers of all ages.

"Guys and Dolls": Thursday May 30, Friday May 31, Saturday June 1, Wednesday June 5, Thursday June 6, Friday June 7, Saturday June 8 at 8PM. Saturday June 1 at 2PM.

This classic musical comedy that premiered on Broadway in 1950, winning five Tony Awards including Best Musical, comes to life on the Weathervane stage! In a pinch to find funds for his "floating" crap game, Nathan Detroit bets the notorious high-roller, Sky Masterson, a thousand dollars he can't take the local Save-A-Soul mission leader to Cuba. That's right, Cuba. Along the way, Sky ends up falling in love with Sarah and tries to reform himself to show his commitment to her. In the meantime, Nathan is deciding what to do about his fiancé of fourteen years, Adelaide, whom is convinced that her chronic colds are due to the fact that Nathan continues to skip out on his responsibilities of marriage. This hilarious, jazz-happy musical comes to a climax as Sky wins the bet that leads all of the gamblers to church. Keep your Sunday hat on for this one and get ready to rock the boat!

"Around the World in 80 Days": Thursday June 13, Friday June 14, Saturday June 15, Wednesday June 19, Thursday June 20, Friday June 21, Saturday June 22 at 8PM. Saturday June 15 at 2PM.

This is a comedy you won't want to miss. Come along with stampeding elephants, raging typhoons, runaway trains and a guaranteed good time! This globetrotting comedy is one you can't miss as we follow the daring voyager Phileas Fogg around the globe in a mere 80 days. This hilarious comedy, in the style of the previous hit comedies at Weathervane, 39 Steps and Leading Ladies, has characters playing multiple roles as they follow Phileas Fogg on his mixed-up journey of follies. Follow Phileas, and the 20 plus other characters that follow him on a wacky ride around the globe, and possibly beyond!

"Oliver" Thursday June 27, Friday June 28, Saturday June 29, Wednesday July 3, Thursday July 4, Friday July 5, Saturday July 6 at 8PM. Saturday June 29 at 2PM.

Meet the courageous British youngster, Oliver, and follow him along a journey of hope as he struggles to find his way out of a London orphanage and to navigate the perilous streets of London. Based on the well-known tale by Charles Dickens, this musical is filled with drama and delight with musical numbers like "Food Glorious Food", "Where is Love?", and "Consider Yourself at Home"! Don't miss this charming children's tale that took three Tony awards at its Broadway debut.

"Moon Over Buffalo": Thursday July 11, Friday July 12, Saturday July 13, Wednesday July 17, Thursday July 18, Friday July 19, Saturday July 20 at 8PM. Saturday July 13 at 2PM

Hop on board another roller coaster comedy by Ken Ludwig (the author of last season's Leading Ladies). This time you'll follow the follies of the married couple, Charlotte and George, and their repertoire Acting Company. Things get a little out of hand when Charlotte learns of George's infidelity and only get more complicated when they both learn of the chance to perform one of their plays for a famous movie director. Follow this farcical comedy to immediate laughter with one of the funniest plays written for the stage.

"Monty Python's Spamalot": Thursday July 26, Friday July 27, Saturday July 28, Wednesday August 1, Thursday August 2, Friday August 3, Saturday August 4 at 8PM. Saturday July 28 at 2PM

A Weathervane Playhouse Premier! Taken right from the pages of the classic British comedy film, "Monty Python and the Holy Grail", the musicAl Monty Python's Spamalot is the award winning Broadway musical comedy hit! If you are looking for the absolute, most ridiculous musical comedy you have ever seen...you have found it. Join King Arthur, his servant Patsy, Sir Lancelot and Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave on their quest to find the Knights of the Round Table. Along the way they do manage to find Sir Bedevere the Strangely Flatulent, Sir Dennis Galahad the Dashingly Handsome and the aptly named Sir Not-Appearing-In-This-Show. This is the musical comedy of comedies that you just can't afford to miss.




Comment & Share




About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
 
🔀COLUMBUS SHOWS
The Who's Tommy in ColumbusThe Who's Tommy
(Runs 4/10 - 4/17)
The Wizard of Oz in ColumbusThe Wizard of Oz
(Runs 4/10 - 4/20)
Menopause The Musical in ColumbusMenopause The Musical
(Runs 4/24 - 4/27)
Ten-Minute Play Festival in ColumbusTen-Minute Play Festival
(Runs 4/29 - 4/30)
The Full Monty in ColumbusThe Full Monty
(Runs 4/24 - 5/3)
Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz in ColumbusDorothy and the Wizard of Oz
(Runs 4/25 - 5/4)

More Shows | Add a Show