THE SANTALAND DIAIRIES Opens at Theater Wit, 11/23

‚Äč
THE SANTALAND DIAIRIES Opens at Theater Wit, 11/23

Mitchell Fain is unfurling his candy stripe tights once more for Theater Wit's ninth consecutive outing of The Santaland Diaries. Adapted for the stage by Joe Mantello, and directed by Theater Wit Artistic Director Jeremy Wechsler, The Santaland Diaries returns November 23-December 30, 2012 at Theater Wit, 1229 W. Belmont Avenue, Chicago.

Hailed as the "24 funniest pages ever written in the English language," David Sedaris' uproariously funny, true tale about his less than merry misadventures as a Christmas elf gone bad is a must-see celebration of the desperation of unemployment, the insanity of Christmas shopping and the ineffable "cheer" of the holiday spirit. Don't miss Theater Wit's annual chance to spend some one-on-one time with the irreverent Crumpet, as Santa's reluctant little helper struggles to maintain his dignity while confronted by competitive elves, scary Santas, thousands of selfish shoppers and their obnoxious kiddies during the Macy's Christmas rush.

Press opening is Friday, November 23, 7 p.m. Performances continue Saturday, November 24 at 7:30 and 9:30 p.m.; Sunday, November 25 at 3 and 7 p.m.; Thursday, November 29 at 7:30 p.m.; Friday, November 30 at 7:30 p.m.; Saturday, December 1 at 7:30 and 9:30 p.m.; Sunday, December 2 at 3 p.m.; Thursday, December 6 at 7:30 p.m.; Friday, December 7 at 7:30 and 9:30 p.m.; Saturday, December 8 at 7:30 and 9:30 p.m.; Sunday, December 9 at 3 p.m.; Thursday, December 13 at 7:30 p.m.; Friday, December 14 at 7:30 and 9:30 p.m.; Saturday, December 15 at 7:30 and 9:30 p.m.; Sunday, December 16 at 3and 7 p.m.; Wednesday, December 19 at 7:30 p.m.; Thursday, December 20 at 7:30 p.m.; Friday, December 21 at 7:30 and 9:30 p.m.; Saturday, December 22 at 7:30 and 9:30 p.m.; Sunday, December 23 at 3 and 7 p.m.; Wednesday, December 26 at 7:30 p.m.; Thursday, December 27 at 7:30 p.m.; Friday, December 28 at 7:30 and 9:30 p.m.; Saturday, December 29 at 7:30 and 9:30p.m.; and Sunday, December 30 at 3 p.m.

Tickets to The Santaland Diaries range from $18 to $35. Check Theater Wit's website or call the box office to learn about possible additional holiday week performances. For tickets and information, call the Theater Wit box office, 773.975.8150 or visit TheaterWit.org.

More Chicago!
Go to the Homepage


Comment & Share


About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
 
🔀CHICAGO SHOWS
White Christmas
(Runs 11/28 - 12/20)
A Christmas Carol in ChicagoA Christmas Carol
(Runs 11/28 - 12/24)
White Christmas
(Runs 11/5 - 12/28)
The Christmas Schooner in ChicagoThe Christmas Schooner
(Runs 11/26 - 12/28)
bare
(Runs 1/2 - 1/3)
Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella in ChicagoRodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella
(Runs 12/16 - 1/4)

View All | Add Show | Auditions

Message Board

The Showtune Mosh Pit 320 Posts

BWW BLOGS

Advertisement Advertisement