Jackie Hoffman, Jake Epstein, John Tartaglia & More to Join Kooman & Dimond for Ebb Award Concert, 5/5

Jackie Hoffman, Jake Epstein, John Tartaglia & More to Join Kooman & Dimond for Ebb Award Concert, 5/5

Jackie Hoffman (Hairspray, The Addams Family), Jake Epstein (Beautiful, Spiderman...) and John Tartaglia (Avenue Q, Shrek) are among the artists who will join Fred Ebb Award-winning songwriters Michael Kooman and Christopher Dimond for Kooman & Dimond: Still Not Famous May 5th at the York Theatre at Saint Peter's.

Directed by Issac Klein with musical direction by Meg Zervoulis, the free concert will feature selections from Kooman & Dimond's musicals THE NOTEWORTHY LIFE OF HOWARD BARNES, JUDGE JACKIE JUSTICE, ORPHIE & THE BOOK OF HEROES, and more.

Presented by the Fred Ebb Foundation, in association with the York Theatre Company, the concert will also feature Harris Doran (Hair), Shauna Goodgold, Brad Greer, Lee Harrington, Kate Hennies, Andrew Kober (Les Miserables, Hair), Veronica Kuehn (Avenue Q), Chelsea Packard (Hands on a Hardbody), Joel Perez (Fun Home), Sergi Robles, Matthew Scott (Jersey Boys), and Natalie Weiss (Everyday Rapture).

The York Theatre Company is located at the Theatre of Saint Peter's at 619 Lexington Avenue at 54th Street. Tickets to the concert are sold out.

About Kooman & Dimond

Michael Kooman (music) and Christopher Dimond (book & lyrics) received the 2013 Fred Ebb Award, a Jonathan Larson Grant, and are the first recipients of the Lorenz Hart Award. Between them, they have received the Burton Lane Award, the Harold Adamson Award, the KC/ACTF Musical Theatre Award, a NYFA fellowship, an Anna Sosenko Grant, and numerous ASCAP Plus awards.

Their musicals include THE NOTEWORTHY LIFE OF HOWARD BARNES (developed at the O'Neill Music Theater Conference and the Village Theater), ORPHIE & THE BOOK OF HEROES (The Kennedy Center), JUDGE JACKIE JUSTICE (Pittsburgh CLO), DANI GIRL (Exit, Pursued by a Bear; licensed by Samuel French), GOLDEN GATE (Williamstown Theatre Festival), JUNIOR CLAUS (licensed by Dramatic Publishing), and HOMEMADE FUSION (London's Ambassadors Theater, Edinburgh Fringe Festival).

Michael and Chris are members of the Dramatists Guild and ASCAP, and are proud alumni of Carnegie Mellon University. They were Dramatists Guild Fellows, received a fellowship at the O'Neill National Music Theater Conference, and attended the Johnny Mercer Songwriting workshop. In addition, they founded the ASCAP Foundation Musical Theater Songwriting Project, a program dedicated to training young songwriters.

Their debut album, OUT OF OUR HEADS, featuring an all-star lineup of Broadway performers, is now available on iTunes. Learn more at www.koomandimond.com

About the Fred Ebb Award

The Fred Ebb Award recognizes excellence in musical theatre songwriting, by a songwriter or songwriting team that has not yet achieved significant commercial success. The award is meant to encourage and support aspiring songwriters to create new works for the musical theatre. The prize includes a $50,000 award. In addition to the monetary prize, the Fred Ebb Foundation will produce a one-night-only showcase of the winner's work. The Fred Ebb Foundation is funded by royalties from Mr. Ebb's vast catalogue of work. Each year, the Foundation also makes a donation to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS.

More Cabaret! More...

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts