Documentary filmmake Ken Burns Named 2014 Recipient of Forrest Church Award

Documentary filmmake Ken Burns Named  2014 Recipient of Forrest Church Award

Noted documentary filmmaker Ken Burns, twice-nominated for the Academy Award and two-time Emmy Award winner, has been selected as the 2014 recipient of the Forrest Church Award. The award will be presented at the 25th Anniversary Auction of The Heart & Soul Charitable Fund on Thursday, March 6, 2014, at The Great Hall of The Cooper Union in New York City.

Burns is well known for his landmark PBS series The Civil War (1990), Baseball (1994), Jazz (2001), and The National Parks: America's Best Idea (2009). His body of work also contains historical films such as The Shakers (1984), The Congress (1988), and Empire of the Air: The Men Who Made Radio (1991); the biographical films Thomas Hart Benton (1988), Frank Lloyd Wright (1998), and Mark Twain (2001). He is currently working on three new efforts, Vietnam, The Roosevelts, and Jackie Robinson.

For more than 30 years, Ken Burns has been making some of the most acclaimed - and most watched - historical documentaries. As the late historian Stephen Ambrose said, "More Americans get their history from Ken Burns than any other source." To celebrate the 150th anniversary of the Gettysburg Address, Burns, along with numerous partners, launched a national on-line effort at to encourage everyone in America to video record themselves reading or reciting this renowned speech by Abraham Lincoln. This collection of recordings continues to grow as more and more people are inspired by the power of history and take The Challenge to LEARN THE ADDRESS.

The Forrest Church Award ( named for the late Rev. Dr. Forrest Church, author and humanitarian, is given to an individual who demonstrates a capacity for moral courage and selflessness while working towards the betterment of our world. Former recipients include Gail McGovern, President and CEO of the American Red Cross; former U.S. President Bill Clinton; Mary Robinson, the former President of Ireland and UN High Commissioner for Human Rights; the Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of New York; and Dr. Paul Farmer, founder of the international health and social justice organization Partners In Health.