tv.broadwayworld.com

BET News and Centric Air Live Coverage of Whitney Houston Funeral, 2/18

BET-to-Air-20010101

The woman, the wonder, the legend....BET and CENTRIC honor the memory of Whitney Houston with a BET News special LIVE: THE HOMEGOING OF WHITNEY HOUSTON premiering this Saturday, February 18, followed by BET REMEMBERS WHITNEY, a one-hour special commemorating the woman best known as The Voice.

Beginning at 11:30AM ET/8:30AM PT, BET News and CENTRIC, along with on-air correspondents April Woodard and Lola Oguinake will bring viewers complete live, in-depth coverage of the legendary pop singer's funeral from her childhood church, New Hope Baptist Church, in Newark, New Jersey. Later that evening at 7:00 PM*, BET News correspondent Bevy Smith sits down with confidants and colleagues of the Queen of Pop including Kim Burrell, Kelley Price, Faith Evans, Ledisi, India.Arie, Tisha Martin Campbell and Tichina Arnold to share tender memories of the superstar's greatest qualities as a vocalist, mentor, mother and friend. BET REMEMBERS WHITNEY takes a deeply personal and heartfelt look at one of music's most beloved and renowned artists and recalls the amazing force behind her meteoric rise to superstardom and her uncanny ability to inspire others in a powerful way -whether in the spotlight or far away from the cameras.

Additionally, LIVE: THE HOMEGOING OF WHITNEY HOUSTON will air internationally on Saturday, February 18 at 4:30PM GMT / 6:30PM CAT and BET REMEMBERS WHITNEY will air internationally on Sunday, February 19 at 7:00 PM GMT / 9:00 PM CAT.

Over the years, BET has celebrated Houston's incredible talent with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the inaugural BET AWARDS in 2001; a BET HONORS Entertainer award in 2010 during which she was paid tribute by Kim Burrell and Jennifer Hudson and most recently, Houston performed "I Look To You," alongside Kim Burrell at BET's 2011 CELEBRATION OF GOSPEL.

For up-to-the-minute details on Whitney Houston, please visit www.bet.com/news. Viewers can also keep up with this developing story on Twitter by following @BET.


Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber