The Cure Joins Lineup at the Voodoo Music Experience

The Cure Joins Lineup at the Voodoo Music Experience

Iconic British rock band The Cure are the latest addition to the line-up for 2013 VOODOO MUSIC + ARTS EXPERIENCE. This marks the band's VOODOO debut and their first performance in New Orleans since 2000. The Cure join a bill led by Pearl Jam, Nine Inch Nails, Calvin Harris, Bassnectar, Paramore, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis and more (see below for updated line-up) for VOODOO's 15th anniversary celebration: November 1, 2 and 3.

Earlier this year, THE CURE announced a series of international headlining festival performances including stops in Latin America (Brazil, Paraguay, Argentina, Chile, Peru, Colombia and Mexico), the U.K., Asia (Japan and Korea), Canada and the U.S. In a recent live review, BILLBOARD (8-5-13) said the band "bounced through a set of their most recognized and festival-friendly tunes. Frontman Robert Smith led the quintet through a string of tunes that included 'Just Like Heaven,' 'Friday I'm in Love,' 'Close to Me' and 'Love Song.' The song selection was elevated by the strength of Smith's distinctive vocals, which haven't seemed to tarnish a bit over the years. The set wasn't all fun and games--moodier fare like '100 Years' and 'Disintegration' also made it to the stage--but this was the Cure at its cuddliest, and Smith made no apologies for his bubbly mood as he danced like a marionette losing it strings for much of the set."

Beyond this addition, VOODOO organizers recently announced the next wave of talent for the annual event. The updated 2013 VOODOO line-up (as of 8-14) is as follows:

Pearl Jam; Nine Inch Nails; The Cure; Calvin Harris; Bassnectar; Paramore; Macklemore & Ryan Lewis; Afrojack; Boys Noize; The Gaslight Anthem; Big Gigantic; How To Destroy Angels; Matt & Kim; Alkaline Trio; Preservation Hall Jazz Band; Dirty South; Desaparecidos; Beats Antique; New Found Glory; Cults; Savoy; Delta Rae; Anamanaguchi; Allen Stone; Destructo; Youngblood Hawke; ZZ Ward; Rudimental; The Revivalists; Shovels & Rope; Moon Taxi; The Olms; Keys N Krates; L.P.; G-Eazy; He's My Brother, She's My Sister; Hockey; A Silent Film; Robert DeLong; The Virginmarys; The Apache Relay; Those Darlins; Reignwolf; CC Adcock & The Lafayette Marquis; Ruby Amanfu; Fleur De Bris Vodu All Stars Featuring David Torkanowsky, George Porter, Jr., & Nicholas Payton; Billy Squier; John Michael Rouchell; Flow Tribe; Royal Teeth; Quintron & Miss Pussycat; Roll The Tanks; Jingle Punks Hipster Orchestra; Dan Dyer; The Purrs; Andrew Duhon; The Breton Sound; Poof! The Pop Show With Carmine P. Filthy & A Boy Named Ruth; The Scorseses; Big History; Coyotes; Kinky Machine; Leopold And his Fiction Church With Unicorn Fukr, Mr. Cool Bad Guy & Guests; Leslie Blackshear Smith & Double Black Featuring Simon Lott, DJ Raymond, Shane Theriot, Alfred "Uganda" Roberts, Tim Green, Ivan Neville, Kiki Phillips, Mehnaz Hoosein & Erica Falls; Paul Varisco And The Milestones; Panic In Eden; Oh, Jeremiah; Hello Negro; The Real Night Tripper: Dr John Featuring George Porter, Jr., Herlin Riley, Alfred "Uganda" Roberts, Smokey Johnson, Shane Theriot, Chief Monk Boudreaux, Nicholas Payton, Roderick Paulin, Sarah Morrow, & Topsy Chapman & Solid Harmony.

Related Links
Utah Four Piece The Aces Share New Song 'Baby Who'Utah Four Piece The Aces Share New Song 'Baby Who'
May 19, 2017

More From This Author

Richard Best Richie Best is a reporter, writer and editor for BWW Music who covers a wide variety of music genres.