San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus Wins Soundtrack Category for I AM HARVEY MILK at 2014 Independent Music Awards

June 5
7:57 2014
San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus Wins Soundtrack Category for I AM HARVEY MILK at 2014 Independent Music Awards

San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus (SFGMC) named winner for "I Am Harvey Milk" in the Soundtrack / Cast Recording Album category at the 13th Independent Music Awards (The IMAs). "I Am Harvey Milk" is an emotional celebration of an American icon. Part choral work, part theater piece, it weaves the story of Harvey Milk's life -- from boyhood to his rise as the first openly gay man to hold public office in California and to his untimely assassination.

"The entire two year commissioning process that surrounded the creation of "I Am Harvey Milk' was transformative for our Chorus," says SFGMC Artistic Director Dr. Tim Seelig. "The project commemorated the 35th Anniversary of the chorus and Harvey Milk's assassination. On the day of the world premiere, the Supreme Court made its monumental decisions moving equal rights for the LGBTQ community forward adding enormous significance to the project. The music is amazing and continues to move audiences across the U.S. We are proud to have helped birth it."

With music and words by Tony and Grammy Award nominee Andrew Lippa (Big Fish, The Addams Family, The Wild Party), "I Am Harvey Milk" features Lippa as Harvey Milk, Tony Award-winner Laura Benanti (Gypsy, NBC's "Go On" and The Sound of Music) as the Soprano Soloist and Noah Marlowe (Mary Poppins, Fun Home) as young Harvey, along with the 300 men of the Chorus. Recorded live during the world premiere at Nourse Theatre in San Francisco, the recording was mixed by multi-Grammy Award winner Leslie Ann Jones at Skywalker Sound and is available now at and on iTunes.

The veteran artists and rising stars named as 13th IMA Winners in more than 80 Album, EP, Song, Music Producer, Music Video and Design categories were selected from thousands of submissions from around the globe, and were determined by a panel of influential artists and music industry executives.

"While the number of outlets that promote independent artists and new music continues to grow, audiences for these new media entities don't have the influence of mainstream outlets," said Martin Folkman, Executive Director of The Independent Music Awards. "The program's goal is to gain exposure for extraordinary self-released and independent label artists and their recent recordings."

The 13th IMA Judging panel featured exceptional recording artists including: Ann Wilson & Nancy Wilson of Heart, Chiddy Bang, Suzanne Vega, G. Love, Sharon Jones, Laurie Anderson, Jim Lauderdale, Krewella, Shelby Lynne, Joshua Redman, Lunice, Chris Wood & Oliver Wood of The Wood Brothers, Hudson Mohawke, Raul Midon, Melissa Auf der Maur, Aoife O'Donovan, Judy Collins, Bernie Worrell, Meshell Ndegeocello, Arturo Sandoval, Band Of Skulls, Adam Agee, Dennis Diken, Nathan Currin, Lindz West of LZ7, Ben Bruce of Asking Alexandria and Jonathan Steingard of Hawk Nelson.

Related Links
MPress Records Announces the Release of  Rachael Sage's New Album 'Choreographic'MPress Records Announces the Release of Rachael Sage's New Album 'Choreographic'
May 23, 2016
Acclaimed Artist Rachael Sage Releases New Album 'Choreographic'Acclaimed Artist Rachael Sage Releases New Album 'Choreographic'
May 23, 2016
Rachael Sage Releases New Album CHOREOGRAPHICRachael Sage Releases New Album CHOREOGRAPHIC
May 20, 2016

About Author

   Subscribe to Author Alerts


Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

           Facebook Like Follow