Rick James' Catalog Re-Released in Digital Form Today

Rick James' Catalog Re-Released in Digital Form Today

Rick James, the "Super Freak" hitmaker singer, producer, innovator and award-winning pioneer in the fusion of funk, R&B, rock and soul was a vagrant hippie in the 1960s who wandered to Toronto, where he ended up playing with Neil Young and Joni Mitchell, only to end up a hybrid superstar in the '80s thanks to his hit song, "Super Freak." An incorrigible bad boy caught up in bad boy ways since his passing from heart failure in 2004, he has remained a legendary icon whose contributions to music can be felt in the likes of Prince, Jay Z and Snoop Dogg, among countless others.

On July 8, Universal Music Enterprises will reissue James' entire Motown catalog in a 109-track Complete Motown Albums digital box set, which includes all nine albums and a selection of bonus tracks. The reissues will coincide with the publication of his authorized biography, Glow, written with acclaimed author David Ritz on Atria Books (Simon & Schuster).

Five of James's nine Motown albums will receive separate digital releases, three of them - 1983's #1 R&B gold-certified Cold Blooded, 1985's Top 10 R&B effort Glow and 1986's The Flag - will be reissued for the very first time, and all contain original 12-inch versions as bonus tracks. Two additional albums - 1978's double-platinum Come Get It! and 1979's platinum #2 R&B release Bustin' Out of L Seven - will be remastered and re-released digitally with new bonus tracks. All five will be Mastered for iTunes ( This ensures that the music is delivered to listeners with increased audio fidelity that more closely replicates what the artists, recording engineers and producers intended. James' four other Motown releases, also available individually - 1979's Top 5 R&B gold-certified Fire It Up, 1980's gold Garden of Love, 1981's Top 3 pop, triple-platinum Street Songs (which includes "Super Freak") and 1982's #2 gold Throwin' Down - will be part of the nine-album Complete Motown Albums digital box set available at all online retailers which includes 109 tracks, featuring rare instrumental 12-inch releases only available as part of this offering.

Comment & Share

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber