OVER THE RHINE Returns to the Lincoln Theatre Tonight

December 14
12:30 2012

OVER THE RHINE Returns to the Lincoln Theatre Tonight

Described as a "sometimes pensive, often poetic, and continually progressive folk-pop ensemble," the Cincinnati-based, husband-and-wife team of Over the Rhine has been making music for more than 20 years. Fronted by Karin Bergquist's torchy, devil-may-care voice brimming with Midwestern soul, the band is led by brilliant keyboardist and songwriter Linford Detweiler who can seamlessly move from avant garde jazz to whisper-quiet folk subtleties to flat out rock.

CAPA presents Over the Rhine at 8pm tonight, December 14, at the Lincoln Theatre (769 E. Long St.). Tickets are $28.50 at the CAPA Ticket Center (39 E. State St.), all Ticketmaster outlets, and To purchase tickets by phone, call (614) 469-0939 or (800) 745-3000.

Students between the ages of 13-19 may purchase $5 PNC Arts Alive All Access tickets while available.

Over the Rhine began in 1990 as a conventional four-piece rock band, albeit one far more in tune with the nuances of songcraft than its three-chord, grunge-era contemporaries. Adopting the name of the gritty Cincinnati neighborhood called Over-The-Rhine, the group quickly became a local sensation and graduated from sold-out weekend club dates to opening tours for Adrian Belew and Bob Dylan. Two lavishly packaged independent records later, the group was signed to IRS, which re-released their second record, Patience.

Seeking artistic autonomy, the band returned to independence for Good Dog Bad Dog, a collection of glorified demos and home recordings that nonetheless eventually out-sold the band's three previous releases combined, and knit the band tightly to its fan base which had come to hang on the group's every move.

Related Articles

About Author

   Subscribe to Author Alerts


Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

           Facebook Like Follow