New Museum Announces Limited-Edition Playbutton

December 5
12:44 2012
New Museum Announces Limited-Edition Playbutton

On the occasion of the fifth anniversary of the New Museum's monthly Get Weird music series, the Museum has produced a special limited-edition Playbutton-a wearable MP3 player button. Get Weird was established with the belief that contemporary art is a dialogue and music is an inextricable part of this conversation. Expanding on the rich music history of the Bowery neighborhood, the series has presented over forty programs since 2007. The Get Weird Playbuttoncompiles fifteen live performances from the first five years of the series.
Engaging the New Museum's mission statement of "new art, new ideas," Get Weird invites both emerging and established artists to explore the far edges of their practice. From Andrew W.K.'s completely improvised set for piano and voice to No Age's brooding live score for The Bear, the Museum's Theater has proved a unique setting for many artists. Get Weird has also produced many firsts: hosting the New York debuts of Maher Shalal Hash Baz, Main Attrakionz, and Keyboard Kid; returning Gray to the stage after a two-decade hiatus; and presenting the first ever solo performance by Nick Zinner (Yeah Yeah Yeahs).
The Get Weird series is programmed by Ethan Swan, Education Associate. The series was initially developed for the Museum by Alex Butler (December 2007–September 2008). The Get Weird Playbutton's artwork was designed by Brendan Fowler (BARR) and is produced in a limited edition of 500. All recordings are taken from the New Museum's soundboard and mastered by FrEd Thomas. Proceeds from the Get Weird Playbutton support the New Museum and its programming.
1 | REMOTE BURIAL » Eclipsed (8:55)
2 | HIGH PLACES » From Stardust to Sentience (3:33)
3 | GRAY » Wig (5:22)
4 | LEXIE MOUNTAIN BOYS » (Never) Forgive (3:50)
6 | DEAKIN » untitled (7:59)
8 | DAMNED DOGS » Part Two (6:44)
9 | NICK ZINNER » Music For Dream Machine (6:51)
10 | XENO + OAKLANDER » Sets and Lights (5:33)
11 | ERIC COPELAND » FKD (4:53)
12 | MAHER SHALAL HASH BAZ » A Boogie (5:18)
13 | NO AGE » Excerpt from The Bear (10:50)
14 | KRIA BREKKAN » untitled (2:23)
15 | MAIN ATTRAKIONZ »Legion of Doom (3:23)
Total running time: 85 min 32 sec
Release date: December 10, 2012
Retail: $35.00 (New Museum Members: $29.75)
For more information or to purchase the Get Weird Playbutton, please visit


Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

           Facebook Like Follow


Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement