Music from the Original Series ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK Out 5/13

Music from the Original Series ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK Out 5/13

Universal Music Enterprises announced today the release of MUSIC FROM THE ORIGINAL SERIES ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK, from the hit series Orange is the New Black on May 13. The line-up of artists includes Regina Spektor, Kelis, The Velvet Underground & Nico, and more. The soundtrack will come in three configurations including CD, Digital and a special edition, first run only in orange vinyl. Lionsgate Home Entertainment will also release the Orange Is the New Black: Season One Blu-ray and DVD on the same day.

The full album track list features an eclectic line-up, including "Walkin Up The Road" by Betty Davis, "Move And Groove Together" by Benny Latimore, "Gangsta" by tUnE-yArDs, "I'll Take You There" by The Staple Singers, "Milkshake" by Kelis, "Walking Backwards" by Leagues, "Kickface" by Little Foot Long Foot, "Sunday Morning" by The Velvet Underground & Nico, "Living This Life Makes It Hard" by The Duchess and The Duke, "Chicken" by Nancy Cassidy, "Baby Face" by Whispering Jack Smith, and the Grammy nominated "You've Got Time" by Regina Spektor, which was specifically created for the show.

Music Supervisor Bruce Gilbert explains, "I feel like it's truly an inspired work. I loved this song when I first heard it, but I loved it even more once I got to hear and see how beautifully it impacted our main titles. There's an immediate urgency to it that gives way to an emotion that breathes even more life into the stunning portraits of the prisoners."

Orange is the New Black follows engaged Brooklynite Piper Chapman, whose wild past comes back to haunt her and results in her arrest and detention in a federal penitentiary. To pay her debt to society, Piper trades her comfortable New York life for an orange prison jumpsuit and finds unexpected conflict and camaraderie amidst an eccentric group of inmates.

SOURCE: BUSINESS WIRE ©2014 Business Wire

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber