Lainie Kazan & Maurice Hines to Be Honored at Bistro Awards, 3/4


Legendary singer-actress Lainie Kazan and versatile performer Maurice Hines will be honored, along with 16 others, at the 28th Annual Bistro Awards gala, which recognizes outstanding achievement in New York cabaret, jazz, and comedy. The celebration will take place on Monday, March 4 at Gotham Comedy Club, 208 West 23rd Street (between 7th & 8th avenues).

Ms. Kazan, who has entertained audiences on stage and screen and in nightclubs since the 1960s- from "Funny Girl" to "My Big Fat Greek Wedding," from MR. Kelly's to Feinstein's at Loews Regency-will receive the Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award. Mr. Hines, the celebrated actor, dancer and choreographer who started on TV variety shows in the 1950s and went on to a Tony Award-nominated career on Broadway, is being honored for his Enduring Artistry.

The evening, under the direction of Shellen Lubin, will once again be co-hosted by comedian and actor Jim David, and will feature performances from most of this year's Bistro-winning artists.

Clint Holmes and Sue Raney, two veteran entertainers, are being honored for their Major Engagements at the Café Carlyle and Feinstein's at Loews Regency, respectively. Mr. Holmes brought his bravura showmanship and powerful vocals to a critically acclaimed new show comparing and contrasting the music of Cole Porter and Paul Simon. Ms. Raney, a leading light on the West Coast jazz scene since the 1950s and still gloriously in command of her sunny voice and trademark range, marked her first New York nightclub engagement in over 25 years.

Other Bistro Awards go to film, TV and stage star Jenifer Lewis for her "Dazzling Return to New York Cabaret"; Broadway and symphony conductor Barry Levitt, who is music director for many of nightlife's biggest names, for "Ongoing Musical Excellence"; and Mx. Justin VivIan Bond, the Tony Award-nominated performance artist, for "Singular Artistry."

Two Special Awards will be presented: to Jack Kleinsinger, whose concert series "Highlights in Jazz" has been presenting major jazz performers for 41 seasons, and to Ben Rimalower, the writer and performer of the poignant and hilarious solo play "Patti Issues," which has been extended four times at The Duplex.

Alec Mapa will be honored for his comedy monologue "Baby Daddy," while Tanya Holt will be recognized for her achievements as a Vocalist and Deanna Kirk as Jazz Vocalist. Michael Hughes wins a Bistro Award for his debut New York show, "Mickey and Judy," the musical memoir that was the hit of the 2011 Toronto Fringe Festival. T. Oliver Reid is being recognized with a Bistro for Theme Show for his show "Drop Me Off in Harlem," which marked his debut at Feinstein's at Loews Regency last fall. Mary Liz McNamara, already honored by BMI for outstanding creative achievement in musical theatre, will take home the Bistro Award for Songwriter.

In addition, the Bistro Awards will honor two very special new recordings. Catherine Russell, the versatile singer whose CDs have topped both the Billboard charts and the Village Voice's Jazz Critics poll, has impressed the jazz world yet again with the 2012 album "Strictly Romancin'." Moira Danis features many genres of music to highlight the connections between friends, lovers, relatives and strangers on her new CD, "Some People's Lives."

The Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award, given to an outstanding performer on the rise, and named after Back Stage's co-founder, co-publisher, and first cabaret critic, goes to multi-talented Liam Forde.

The gala event will be held on Monday, March 4 at Gotham Comedy Club, 208 West 23rd Street. A Champagne reception for Bistro recipients and Premium Ticket holders begins at 5 pm, followed by the awards presentation and show starting at 6:30 pm. Producer Sherry Eaker will host the annual event, along with the other members of the Bistro Awards Committee: Elizabeth Ahlfors (Cabaret Scenes,, David Finkle (Village Voice, The Huffington Post), Kevin Scott Hall (Edge Media Network, ), Rob Lester (Cabaret Scenes,, Erv Raible, executive/artistic director of the Cabaret Conference at Yale University, Roy Sander (, chairman of the Advisory Board of MAC), Robert Windeler ( and Mark Dundas Wood (, Ms. Eaker, who heads the Bistro Committee, is the former longtime Editor-in-Chief of Back Stage and the producer of the event since its inception.