Bry Webb Releases Solo Album 'Free Will' Today

May 20
12:30 2014
Bry Webb Releases Solo Album 'Free Will' Today

In addition to Bry Webb's previously announced forthcoming solo record Free Will, out today, May 20 on Idée Fixe Records, Sub Pop will release a vinyl-only reissue of The Constantines' seminal Shine A Light June 10. Originally released in 2003 and since named one of the top 200 records of the 2000s by Pitchfork and often cited as one of the best Canadian records ever, Shine A Light has been out of print on LP since 2007. In addition to his solo tour, Webb will play several dates with The Constantines this summer.

Stereogum recently premiered Free Will track "Receive Me," saying, "The sound and feel of this music are unmistakable, especially when Webb raises his voice to a weathered howl. If you've been missing him as much as I have, this is straight-up manna." Stream the track here. Additionally, Webb will tour the U.S. this May, joining Chad VanGaalen and Cousins on dates including New York, Washington, D.C., and Chicago. Please see below for full tour routing.

The new record follows 2012's Provider, which American Songwriter called "unpolished, unpretentious and understanding." The album's 12 songs, including the title track and cuts called "Prove Me Wrong" and "Fletcher," are considerations of responsibility, love, work, desire, art and will written with Webb's two-year-old son in mind. First single "A.M. Blues" can be heard here: An album trailer for Free Will is available here:

Free Will was recorded at 6 Nassau Studio in Toronto by Webb and friends including Rich Burnett (lap steel, guitar, vocals), Aaron Goldstein (pedal steel), Anna Ruddick (bass, vocals) and Nathan Lawr (drums). Produced by Jeff McMurrich (Jennifer Castle, Owen Pallett, Sandro Perri) and Webb, the album features guest appearances from the likes of singer Jennifer Castle, pianist Thomas Hammerton and experimental hurdy-gurdy player Ben Grossman.


Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

           Facebook Like Follow