BECK Reveals Track List for New Album MORNING PHASE, Out Feb 2014

Related: BECK, MORNING PHASE, Capitol Records

Beck. Photo by Peter Hapak.

Beck announced last month he had signed to Capitol Records, which will release his first album of all new material since 2008's universally acclaimed Modern Guilt. His new album MORNING PHASE is set for release in February 2014. Beck revealed the track list via Revolt TV today. Check it out below!

1. "Morning"
2. "Heart Is A Drum"
3. "Say Goodbye"
4. "Waking Light"
5. "Unforgiven"
6. "Wave"
7. "Don't Let It Go"
8. "Blackbird Chain"
9. "Evil Things"
10. "Blue Moon"
11. "Turn Away"
12. "Country Down"

The new record has been described as a companion piece of sorts to Beck's 2002 classic Sea Change. Featuring many of the same musicians who played on that record (who are also currently accompanying him live) -Justin Meldal-Johnsen, Joey Waronker, Smokey Hormel, Roger Joseph Manning Jr., and Jason Falkner -- Morning Phase harkens back to the stunning harmonies, song craft and staggering emotional impact of that record, while surging forward with infectious optimism.

Morning Phase caps off a yearlong creative tear that traces back to the December of 2012 release of the lavishly packaged and illustrated Song Reader featuring sheet music for 20 new original Beck songs. The project quickly took on a life of its own, with musicians from across the globe recording their own interpretations, as well as Beck's own special shows featuring eclectic lists of co-conspirators putting their own stamp on the compositions. Following that, Beck re-imagined David Bowie's classic "Sound + Vision" with a hand-selected 160-piece orchestra... culminating with a groundbreaking interactive 360-degree filming of a live performance of the track. More recently, this summer brought us three rabidly received singles released digitally and on 12-inch vinyl ("Defriended," "I Won't Be Long," Gimme"), and September saw Beck custom-creating two performance pieces for Doug Aitken's Station to Station series of transient happenings, all interspersed with his current run of live shows--touted by reviewers the world over as among the very best of his career.

The exact release date and further information re: Morning Phase will be released as it is confirmed.

More On: Morning, September, Station,

Comment & Share

Related Links
AXS TV to Air Live Broadcast of Featured Acts of Week 2 of CoachellaAXS TV to Air Live Broadcast of Featured Acts of Week 2 of Coachella
April 16, 2014
RIAA Announces 12 First-Time Digital Award RecipientsRIAA Announces 12 First-Time Digital Award Recipients
April 08, 2014
Kurt Vile and The Violators to Play Capitol Theatre, 5/31Kurt Vile and The Violators to Play Capitol Theatre, 5/31
April 08, 2014
Beth Hart to Play Ridgefield Playhouse, 6/20Beth Hart to Play Ridgefield Playhouse, 6/20
April 08, 2014

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts

Subscribe for News & Specials