Aaron Tveit, Samantha Barks, Stephanie J. Block & More Set for THE RECORDING ACADEMY HONORS 2013, 6/25


The Recording Academy Honors 2013 will feature GRAMMY-winners Michael Bolton, Kristian Bush and David Caddick, GRAMMY-nominee Joan Osborne, stage and screen stars Aaron Tveit, Samantha Barks and Stephanie J. Block, American Idol Music Director Ray Chew, singer-songwriters Peter Cincotti and Frankie Moreno, Island Def Jam Music Group President Steve Bartels, IMG Founder Charles Hamlen, and entertainment and media entrepreneur Kevin Liles. The star studded gala will celebrate honorees Ashford & Simpson, GRAMMY-winning violinist Joshua Bell, GRAMMY-winning artist Melissa Etheridge, GRAMMY-winning creators of "LES MISERABLES" - Alain Boublil, Herbert Kretzmer and Claude-Michel Schönberg - and R&B singer/songwriter Trey Songz. The Recording Academy Honors was established to celebrate outstanding individuals whose work embodies excellence and integrity and who have improved the environment for the creative community. The event, which will attract recording artists, key entertainment executives and community leaders, will be hosted Tuesday, June 25, 2013, at 6 p.m. at 583 Park Avenue. This gala will support the Chapter's ongoing advocacy, education and professional development programs.

The evening will begin with a VIP cocktail hour followed by dinner and the tribute presentations with celebrity presenters and performers. Tickets for The Recording Academy Honors gala range from $375 for Academy members to $1,000 for VIPs and are available by calling the New York Chapter office at 212.245.5440. Sponsorship packages and show presentation only seats are also available.

Nick Ashford and Valerie Simpson have long ranked among the most acclaimed and admired creative couples in contemporary music. The GRAMMY-nominated songwriting duo was responsible for writing some of music's most notable songs. Joining Motown Records in 1966, they penned hits such as "Ain't No Mountain High Enough," "Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing" and Chaka Khan's "I'm Every Woman." The songwriting/producing team also found success with their own hits "Found A Cure" and "Solid." In 2002, the couple was inducted into the Songwriters Hall Of Fame. Ashford died in 2011 at the age of 70.

GRAMMY-winner Joshua Bell is one of the world's most celebrated violinists. His stunning virtuosity, beautiful tone and charismatic stage presence have brought him universal acclaim. Since making his Carnegie Hall debut at age 17, he has toured the world with numerous orchestras including the Boston Symphony, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Detroit Symphony Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra, and Seattle Symphony. He currently holds the role of new music director of the Academy of St Martin in the Fields, the first person and first American to hold this post since Sir Neville Marriner formed the orchestra in 1958. The ensemble's first 15-concert tour through the United States garnered rave reviews, and their first recording under Bell's leadership of Beethoven's 4th and 7th symphonies debuted at No.1 on Billboard's Classical Albums chart.