AUDIO: First Listen - Tecla's 'Fake Tears'

January 22
6:45 2013
Related Links

NYC sonic renegade Tecla will release her second full-length studio album, We Are The Lucky Ones, on March 19th via Mayimba Music. Listen to the first single "Fake Tears" below! We Are The Lucky Ones is a kaleidoscopic album that evinces the spectrum of Tecla's life and musical journey from a child piano prodigy to years singing, rapping, djing, and producing in New York's underground.

We Are The Lucky Ones' was entirely written by Tecla. The album's genre-defying sound infuses Tecla's uncompromising songwriting and rap lyricism with tropical, Caribbean, pop and funk elements. "Lucky Ones" opens the album with a skittering beat and rumbling synth that soundtrack her message of understanding your own privilege. The anthemic "Money" is a club ready satirical take on gold digging with an instantly memorable "You ain't got your money right" hook. The hypnotic and soulful "Tragic Mulatto" was co-produced by members of Chairlift. "Fiction Fairytales of Love" is a lyrical deconstruction of a relationship's faults and insecurities that closes the album with an ominous dancehall beat that lets Tecla's vocal melody spiral around it while incorporating a melancholic acoustic guitar and exploding into layers of hand drumming and feedback by the end.

Tecla is establishing herself as one of the most unapologetically complicated and boundary-breaking artists in music today. Her unflinching lyrics are matched only by her limitless sonic palette.

For more about Tecla, go to or find Tecla on Facebook:, Twitter: @TeclaTeclaTecla and Instagram: @IAmTecla.

AUDIO: First Listen - Tecla's 'Fake Tears'


Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

           Facebook Like Follow


Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement