INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS, Matthew McConaughey, Brie Larson Take Top Honors at 2013 Gotham Awards

Related: IFP, Gotham Independent Film Awards, Gotham Awards, Inside Llewyn Davis, Matthew McConaughey, Brie Larson

Joel and Ethan Coen's INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS took the award for Best Feature at the 2013 Gotham Independent Film Awards, hosted by Nick Kroll at Cipriani Wall Street tonight, December 2.

The ceremony also featured a career tribute to NYC film commissioner Katherine Oliver, a tribute to James Gandolfini by Steve Buscemi, and another to Forest Whitaker, presented by Lee Daniels, as well as a career tribute for Richard Linklater by Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke.

Selected by distinguished juries and presented in New York City, the home of independent film, the Gotham Awards are the first honors of the film awards season. This public showcase honors the filmmaking community, expands the audience for independent films, and supports the work that IFP does behind the scenes throughout the year to bring such films to fruition.

Scroll down for the list of 2013 nominees and winners (highlighted in bold):

Best Feature

- 12 Years a Slave
- Ain't Them Bodies Saints
- Before Midnight
- Inside Llewyn Davis ***
- Upstream Color

Best Documentary

- The Act Of Killing ***
- The Crash Reel
- First Cousin Once Removed
- Let the Fire Burn
- Our Nixon

Best Actor

- Chiwetel Ejiofor in 12 Years a Slave
- Oscar Isaac in Inside Llewyn Davis
- Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club ***
- Robert Redford in All Is Lost
- Isaiah Washington in Blue Caprice

Best Actress

- Cate Blanchett in Blue Jasmine
- Scarlett Johansson in Don Jon
- Brie Larson in Short Term 12 ***
- Amy Seimetz in Upstream Color
- Shailene Woodley in The Spectacular Now

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director

- Ryan Coogler for Fruitvale Station ***
- Adam Leon for Gimme the Loot
- Alexandre Moors for Blue Caprice
- Stacie Passon for Concussion
- Amy Seimetz for Sun Don't Shine

Breakthrough Actor

- Dane DeHaan in Kill Your Darlings
- Kathryn Hahn in Afternoon Delight
- Michael B. Jordan in Fruitvale Station ***
- Lupita Nyong'o in 12 Years a Slave
- Robin Weigert in Concussion

Audience Award

- Jake Shimabukuro for Life on Four Strings ***

Euphoria Calvin Klein Live the Dream grant for emerging female filmmakers

- Gita Pullapilly for Beneath the Harvest Sky ***

More On: Before Midnight, The Act Of Killing, Blue Jasmine, The Spectacular Now, Fruitvale Station,

Comment & Share

Subscribe for News & Specials