Yo-Yo Ma Awarded 2013 Vilcek Prize for Contemporary Music; Ceremony Set for April 2013


The Vilcek Foundation has announced Yo-Yo Ma as the winner of the 2013 Vilcek Prize for Contemporary Music. Already acknowledged as a master cellist in the field of classical music, the Vilcek Prize is the first to recognize and honor his contributions to contemporary music.

The annual Vilcek Prize in the Arts, which comes with a $100,000 cash award, recognizes immigrants who have made significant contributions to the American arts. The 2013 prize is being awarded in the field of contemporary music. Mr. Ma, born in France to Chinese parents, was selected for his superb artistry; his daring versatility that spans genres as diverse as tango, bluegrass, and Japanese folk music; and his leadership in expanding musical knowledge across cultures.

"Yo-Yo Ma's faith in the connection between the arts and enlightened citizenship echoes that of the Vilcek Foundation. We are delighted to bestow the prize to someone who understands how art brings people together, no matter where in the world they are from," said Marica Vilcek, Vice President of the Foundation. "In addition to his outstanding body of recordings, his creation of the Silk Road Project has brought forth work that is innovative, interdisciplinary, and multicultural."

Mr. Ma first established himself as a classical cellist, having been trained since the age of four. Eventually, he incorporated a variety of other musical forms into his repertoire: Among his most well-known contemporary music recordings are Appalachia Waltz; Hush, with Bobby McFerrin; and Obrigado Brazil. Mr. Ma is the founder of the Silk Road Project, which fosters collaborations between musicians and composers from different cultures. He has won numerous honors, including 15 GRAMMY Awards, the Avery Fisher Prize, The National Medal of the Arts, and the Presidential Medal of Freedom. Mr. Ma serves as a UN Messenger of Peace, and is a member of President Obama's Committee on the Arts & Humanities.

The Vilcek Foundation is also announcing the winners of the three Vilcek Prizes for Creative Promise in Contemporary Music. These prizes recognize a younger generation of foreign-born artists at earlier stages of their careers; this year, the prizes were awarded to music professionals, aged 30 or under. They are:

James Abrahart - More commonly known as JHart, James Abrahart is one of the songwriters behind pop, hip-hop, and R&B superstars such as Justin Bieber, Jason Derulo, David Guetta, Flo Rida, and Trey Songz. Since being signed by Universal Records in 2010, the 24 year-old British-born songwriter has been busy: last May, JHart co-wrote "Take You," a song for Justin Bieber's album "Believe," which has since gone platinum. That same month, Jason Derulo performed "Undefeated," a song he co-wrote with JHart, on the Finale of American Idol, which reached an audience of 22 million viewers. Not content to remain behind the scenes though, JHart also wrote and featured on "Surrender," a single for legendary DJ Paul Oakenfold, which reached #3 on the Billboard Dance charts.