books.broadwayworld.com

This July at Bookworks Includes Kate Payne, Sarah Stark and More

This July at Bookworks Includes Kate Payne, Sarah Stark and More

This July at Bookworks includes Love your kitchen with Kate Payne, Memories of war with Sarah Stark and more. There are also many events for kids like Story Time - Bed Time Math, Sammy Keyes Book Club and more. For more information visit bkwrks.com/event.

Tuesday, July 1
7pm • Kate Payne • The Hip Girl's Guide to the Kitchen
The author Kate Payne shows you how to love your kitchen and learn to make creative, delicious food without breaking your budget. You can become a confident cook--even if the drawer with the take-out menus is the only part of your kitchen you currently use.

Wednesday, July 2
7pm • 2014 Rendition of Committing Poetry in Times of War with Bill Nevins
Albuquerque poet and teacher Bill Nevins hosts the 2014 rendition of Committing Poetry in Times of War.

BOOKWORKS WILL BE CLOSED ON THE 4TH OF JULY Have a wonderful, safe holiday!

Saturday, June 5
3pm • Andrew Guilford • Outdoors in the Southwest
More college students than ever are majoring in Outdoor Recreation, Outdoor Education, or Adventure Education, but fewer and fewer Americans spend any time in thoughtful, respectful engagement with wilderness.

Sunday, July 6
3pm • Sarah Stark • Out There
Jefferson Long Soldier, a young Army veteran of Native descent returns home safely from Iraq, and is convinced that the novel he carried with him over the ocean and across the desert (One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez) saved his life. Jefferson attempts to reclaim his peaceful life in Santa Fe, but the heart-breaking memories of war will not be quelled.

Tuesday, July 8
7pm • Margaret Randall • About Charlie Lindbergh & Other Poems
Albuquerque writer-activist Margaret Randall returns with a new book of poems from Wings Press.

Thursday, July 10
6pm • Lucy Lippard • Undermining
Award-winning author, curator, and activist Lucy R. Lippard is one of America's most influential writers on contemporary art, a pioneer in the fields of cultural geography, conceptualism, and feminist art.

Saturday, July 12
3pm • Jane Lindskold • Artemis Awakening
Artemis Awakening is the start of a new series by New York Times bestseller Jane Lindskold. The distant world Artemis is a pleasure planet created out of bare rock by a technologically advanced human empire that provided its richest citizens with a veritable Eden to play in.

5pm • Pamela Windo • Him Through Me
In the fall of 1969, two months after the Woodstock festival, a young man leaves America and returns home to England. He knocks at the door of a girl he'd known in school. Gary has paid his dues as a saxophone player in New York City's jazz clubs and sets his sights on rousing the British music scene. Pam has traveled in Europe and North Africa, has two young sons, and has just left her marriage in suburbia.

Sunday, July 13
3pm • Sharleen Daugherty • Double Doll
"A breathtaking tale of risk, vision, and wisdom, Sharleen Daugherty's Double Doll leads us from the pressure cooker of Wall Street to the big skies of the Navajo Nation. Like the Navajo weavings the book celebrates, Daugherty intertwines issues of race, class, and gender against a backdrop of heartbreaking beauty."--Robert Wilder, author of Daddy Needs a Drink.

Sunday - Sunday, July 13-20
16th Annual Taos Writers Conference • at the Sagebrush Inn Bookworks is pleased to be the bookseller at this year's Taos Writers Conference. Named one of the Top Ten writers' conferences in the United States by USA Today, this annual, weeklong gathering draws writers from all over the country to the inspirational setting of Taos where pariticipants enjoy numerous weeklong and weekend workshops in fiction, poetry, nonfiction and screenwriting.

Monday, July 14
7pm • Jan Chodosh • Death Spiral
Faith Flores is sixteen, her mother has just died. Was it really a drug overdose? Faith isn't buying that explanation and begins her own investigation. Upper high school students with an interest in science this is the book and book talk for you!

Tuesday, July 15
5:30pm • Jim Albrecht • 101 Stupid Haiku
Haiku is a classic style of Japanese poetry consisting of exactly seventeen syllables. "101 Stupid Haiku" offers a modern-day interpretation of this elegant art form, adding a dash of humor (with a touch of cynicism) along the way.

7pm • Brinn Colenda • Chita Quest with Scott Archer Jonesauthor of Jupiter & Gilgamesh
Were American POWs left behind at the end of the Vietnam War-either by accident or design? Colonel Tom Callahan is driven to find out-his own father is still listed as Missing In Action. What Callahan doesn't understand is how politically explosive the issue is, domestically and internationally.

Wednesday, July 16
7pm • Celeste Yacoboni • How Do Your Pray
As we evolve, so do our prayers; as our prayers evolve, so do we. This is the evolution of illumination, the collective voice of the soul of the world.

Thursday, July 17
7pm • Wendy Foxworth • Co-Creating Good, Healthy Relationships
Co-creating Good, Healthy Relationships: Living Life The We Way With Everyone, Every Day shows us that choosing to make a shift in how we interact in our relationships can help solve the critical challenges facing humanity today.

Saturday, July 19
3pm • Malcolm Ebright • Four Square Leagues
This long-awaited book is the most detailed and up-to-date account of the complex history of Pueblo Indian land in New Mexico, beginning in the late seventeenth century and continuing to the present day by our state's best-versed researcher on land grants, Malcolm Ebright.

Sunday, July 20
3pm • Betsy Chasse • Tipping Sacred Cows
Wife, mother, and award-winning producer of the sleeper hit What the Bleep Do We Know!? Betsy Chasse thought she had it all figured out...until she realized she didn't. She didn't know anything about happiness, love, spirituality, or herself...nothing, nada, zilch.

Tuesday, July 22
7pm • Mira Jacob • The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing
For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Mona Simpson, and Jhumpa Lahiri comes a winning, irreverent debut novel about a family wrestling with its future and its past.

Wednesday, July 23
7pm • Samuel Young • Chef Fritz & His City
It was the first visit to Philadelphia's Deux Cheminees restaurant for Samuel Young and his wife, Risa, and after the meal, Chef Fritz Blank came grumbling by to join them for a few minutes. Despite his rant, though, his eyes were merry, and he left the table with a joke about the tears of the city's chefs.


Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber