Barnes & Noble Announces Finalists for the Discover Great New Writers Awards

Barnes & Noble Announces Finalists for the Discover Great New Writers Awards

Barnes & Noble, Inc. (NYSE:BKS), one of the nation's largest booksellers and the leading retailer of content, digital media and educational products, today announced the six finalists for its prestigious 2013 Discover Great New Writers Awards. The winners in each category, fiction and nonfiction, receive a $10,000 prize and a full year of additional promotion from Barnes & Noble. Second-place finalists receive $5,000, and third-place finalists $2,500. The finalists are:


NoViolet Bulawayo, We Need New Names (Little, Brown & Co.)
Rebecca Lee, Bobcat & Other Stories (Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill)
Anthony Marra, A Constellation of Vital Phenomena (Hogarth)


Sonali Deraniyagala, Wave (Alfred A. Knopf)
Domenica Ruta, With or Without You (Spiegel & Grau)
Justin St. Germain, Son of a Gun (Random House)

The winners will be announced on Wednesday, March 5, at a private awards ceremony. The Discover Awards honor the best works featured the previous calendar year in the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers program.

Books by the finalists and judges can be purchased at any Barnes & Noble store, online at Barnes & ( or instantly downloaded on any NOOK eBook reader or tablet.

The Jurists

Two panels of distinguished literary judges selected the finalists and will select the winners.

Serving as this year's fiction judges are:

A. Manette Ansay, the author of a story collection, a memoir and six novels, including Vinegar Hill, an Oprah Winfrey Book Club selection, Midnight Champagne, an NBCC finalist, and Blue Water. Her most recent novel is Good Things I Wish You. Ansay is Professor of English at the University of Miami, where she teaches in the MFA program.

Carrie Brown, the Distinguished Visiting Professor of Creative Writing at Hollins University, and the author of six novels and a story collection, among them The Last First Day (2013) and The Rope Walk (2007), and the 1995 Discover Award winner, Rose's Garden.

Charles Yu, the author of How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe, which was named one of the best books of the year by Time magazine. He was a recipient of a National Book Foundation's 5 Under 35 Award and a finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award. His most recent book is Sorry Please Thank You: Stories.

This year's nonfiction judges are:

Gail Caldwell, the author of the forthcoming memoir, New Life, No Instructions, as well as Let's Take the Long Way Home (2010) and A Strong West Wind (2006). The longtime chief book critic of The Boston Globe, she received the Pulitzer Prize for Distinguished Criticism in 2001.

Andre Dubus III, the author of six books, among them Dirty Love (2013) and the New York Times bestsellers House of Sand and Fog (a National Book Award finalist) and Townie. Dubus has been a awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship, a National Magazine Award for Fiction, two Pushcart Prizes, and was a 2012 recipient of an American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Literature.

Comment & Share

BWW Reviews: Award-Winning Children's Author, Maria Dismondy's SPOONFUL OF SWEETNESSBWW Reviews: Award-Winning Children's Author, Maria Dismondy's SPOONFUL OF SWEETNESS

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber