THE MYSTERY OF IRMA VEP, SEUSSICAL, POE and More Set for Berkshire Theatre Group's 86th Summer Theatre Season

Berkshire Theatre Group and Artistic Director/CEO, Kate Maguire have announced the Summer 2014 Theatre Season offering classic works coupled with contemporary plays.

"For our 86th Summer Season, we are producing a full schedule of musicals, plays, and special theatrical performances for another wonderful summer in the Berkshires with a splendid cast and crew of talented artists from across the nation," said Maguire. "Six extraordinary plays: The Mystery of Irma Vep: A Penny Dreadful, Benefactors, Design for Living, A Hatful of Rain, including two world premieres: Cedars and POE and two wonderful musicals: A Little Night Music and Seussical highlight our schedule and make for an enjoyable mix of masterful and provocative classics and contemporary works. A special week-long performance of A Lover's Tale spotlighting the works of Giuseppe Verdi, Charles Ludlam and Alexandre Dumas and performances by our summer apprentices, our 86th season will be memorable and entertaining for all."

Tickets for season pass holders and members are exclusively available starting Friday, February 21 at 10am. Tickets are on sale to all on Wednesday, February 26 at 10am. Summer season passes are available for purchase at $175 for a four-show pass, $250 for a six-show pass, and $225 for a year-round all-stages pass.

Tickets may be purchased in person at the Colonial Ticket Office at 111 South Street, Pittsfield or by calling (413) 997-4444 or online at www.BerkshireTheatreGroup.org. The Ticket Office is open Monday-Friday 10am-5pm, Saturdays 10am-2pm or on any performance day from 10am until curtain. All plays, schedules, casting and prices are subject to change.

SUMMER 2014 SCHEDULE

THE MYSTERY OF IRMA VEP: A PENNY DREADFUL
by Charles Ludlam
directed by Aaron Mark
featuring Bill Bowers and Tom Hewitt

at The Fitzpatrick Main Stage, Stockbridge
Previews June 24-June 27
Press Opening/Opening Night: June 28
Talk Back: June 30
Closing: July 19
Tickets: Preview: $42
A: $62 B: $52 C: $42

Performance Dates
Tuesday, June 24 at 8pm (Preview)
Wednesday, June 25 at 7pm (Preview)
Thursday, June 26 at 8pm (Preview)
Friday, June 27 at 8pm (Preview)
Saturday, June 28 at 2pm & 8pm (Opening Night)
Monday, June 30 at 8pm (Talk Back)
Tuesday, July 1 at 8pm
Wednesday, July 2 at 7pm
Thursday, July 3 at 8pm
Friday, July 4 at 8pm
Saturday, July 5 at 2pm & 8pm
Monday, July 7 at 8pm
Tuesday, July 8 at 8pm
Wednesday, July 9 at 7pm
Thursday, July 10 at 8pm
Friday, July 11 at 8pm
Saturday, July 12 at 2pm & 8pm
Monday, July 14 at 8pm
Tuesday, July 15 at 8pm
Wednesday July 16 at 7pm
Thursday, July 17 at 8pm
Friday, July 18 at 8pm
Saturday, July 19 at 2pm & 8pm (Closing)

Broadway Actor, Bill Bowers and Tony Award-nominated, Tom Hewitt take on eight characters in this classic romp of a gothic spoof. Named one of the best plays of the 20th Century by the New York Times and Time Magazine, Aaron Mark directs Charles Ludlam's campy comedy which tells the pell-mell tale of Lady Enid (Hewitt) and Lord Edgar (Bowers) who arrive one stormy night at a haunted and dreary estate to investigate the sudden disappearance of Irma Vep. Sidesplitting antics and mysteries unfold as the two journey from the London manor to the ancient pyramids in Egypt with vampires, werewolves, mummies and more in tow in this satire of Victorian melodrama, Gothic horror and classic films.

"When the idea of Tom, Bill, and I doing this play together came up, I watched them read through the play cold, sitting on a couch, and it was already funnier and scarier than I thought would be possible at the same time," director Aaron Mark recalled. "They are magnetic, powerful performers and Irma Vep is an ingenious piece of work. I'm thrilled to be working with BTG and to be immersing myself in the world of Charles Ludlam, who created one of the most astonishing (and ridiculous, if you will) bodies of work in recent theatrical history. If I had nothing to do with this production, I would be just as excited to see these two very special actors do this hilarious and frightening play."




Comment & Share




About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
 
🔀BOSTON SHOWS
The Sound of Music in BostonThe Sound of Music
(Runs 4/11 - 4/27)
Carousel in BostonCarousel
(Runs 5/2 - 5/3)
Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat in BostonJoseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
(Runs 5/2 - 5/4)
Jesus Christ Superstar in BostonJesus Christ Superstar
(Runs 5/2 - 5/4)
The Sound of Music in BostonThe Sound of Music
(Runs 4/26 - 5/4)
Monty Python's Spamalot
(Runs 4/25 - 5/10)
The Sound of Music in BostonThe Sound of Music
(Runs 5/9 - 5/11)

More Shows | Add a Show

Message Board

BWW BLOGS