Printer Friendly - Which Les Miseraables recording for a novice?

Which Les Miseraables recording for a novice?
Posted by wewdie 2012-12-26 08:05:05

Hello all,

I have no experience with the score of Les Miserables save for the random listening of I Dreamed a Dream and On My Own. As I prepare to see the movie, I have a feeling I will want a proper cast recording of the score rather than the movie soundtrack. Which one do you recommend? The original London cast, the original Broadway cast, symphonic, or 10th anniversary?

There seem to be a lot of choices. I'm unsure which one will give me the best listening experience.

Thanks for any advice.
-Eddie

Posted by alwaysrose 2012-12-26 09:58:42

Personally, I enjoy the 2010 cast recording, and it is more complete than some of the other recordings. However, I would suggest the Symphonic cast recording as it features the entire score. Both versions are pretty easy to find via Amazon or eBay.

Posted by Jane2 2012-12-26 10:08:19

I'm not sure which is the best but the London OCR has Patti Lupone and Colm Wilkinson, if I'm not mistaken.

Posted by Queen of the Night 2012-12-26 10:30:04

I like the 10th anniversary and original Broadway cast recordings best myself.

Posted by alwaysrose 2012-12-26 10:54:38

If you have Spotify, you can listen to all of the above recordings and decide which you like best.

Posted by wskrs4 2012-12-26 11:07:10

I personally like the "completeness" of the symphonic cast recording, but as a whole, I prefer the cast of the 10th Anniversary Concert (there is a lot of overlap). Either one of those two would be my recommendation.

Posted by ashley77 2012-12-26 12:09:58

My go-to has always been the original London Cast. I prefer LuPone, Allam, and Caine to their Broadway counterparts.

The best cast overall is the 10th Anniversary concert version. No one can beat Phillip Quast as Javert (IMO)

Posted by Rainbowhigh23 2012-12-26 12:30:21