Printer Friendly - CHICAGO 1975

CHICAGO 1975
Posted by Helouul 2012-11-29 04:52:12

Hello,

I'm a student from Belgium, and I have to write a diary for a contest. I've chosen to write about Gwen Verdon, when she played Roxie Hart in the 1975's Chicago production.
If you saw Gwen once, if you came to the show, please tell me everything you know about it, the actors, their relationships ect... It'd help me a lot! Sorry for my mistakes, I'm still learning English

Thank you!
Oh and if you have got some pictures, I'd like to have a look at them too !

CHICAGO 1975
Posted by Helouul 2012-11-29 05:45:59

For example if you know the reason why Gwen left the show after a few months.. let me know

And also.. where Gwen and her husband Bob Fosse used to live!!

CHICAGO 1975
Posted by BrodyFosse123 2012-11-29 11:27:15

Gwen Verdon only left the show for several weeks to have surgery on nodes in her throat after inhaling a feather during the show's finale. Liza Minnelli famously filled in for her during this time with the request that Gwen Verdon's name remain on all advertisement, in the Playbill, etc. Liza's run was not advertised though it was not a hidden secret and ticket sales increased enormously before and during her limited run in the show. Gwen returned once she recouperated and continued in CHICAGO for over a year, including premiering the 1st National Tour of the musical.

CHICAGO 1975
Posted by eperkins 2012-11-29 12:39:15

And don't forget to goggle her. You'll turn up more information. And there is some footage on Youtube.

CHICAGO 1975
Posted by SugarBabyBounce 2012-11-29 12:43:14

This is a great resource as well. Good luck!
http://verdonfosse.com/

CHICAGO 1975
Posted by GavestonPS 2012-11-29 18:42:21

Helouul, I saw the 1975 show many times, always with Gwen Verdon. (I wasn't in NYC during Minnelli's run.)