Works by Neil LaBute, Israel Horovitz & More Set for ONE MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL at Primary Stages, 4/2

Works by Neil LaBute, Israel Horovitz & More Set for ONE MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL at Primary Stages, 4/2

The 8th Annual One-Minute Play Festival will take place Wednesday, April 2, 2014 for two performances only, at 6PM and 9PM at Primary Stages at 59E59 Theaters. The One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) and Primary Stages continue their dynamic partnership with a portion of the event's proceeds benefitting Primary Stages Einhorn School of Performing Arts (ESPA).

One-minute plays by over 40 of the best playwrights in American theater were commissioned for this special event, prompted by #1MPF's unique playmaking process. This year's festival will feature works by Joshua Allen, Robert Askins, Rachel Axler, Tanya Barfield, Nina Beber, Bekah Brunstetter, Sheila Callaghan, Mike Daisey, Eisa Davis, Kristoffer Diaz, Bathsheba Doran, Madeline George, Kate Gersten, Melissa Jane Gibson, Daniel Goldfarb, David Grimm, Israel Horovitz, Chisa Hutchinson, Rajiv Joseph, Greg Keller, Greg Kotis, Neil LaBute, Deborah Zoe Laufer, Kirk Lynn, Ellen McLaughlin, Dominique Morisseau, Itamar Moses, Sylvan Oswald, Dave West Read, Scott Rothman, Kate M. Ryan, Edwin Sanchez, Jenny Schwartz, Julian Sheppard, Octavio Solis, Caridad Svich, Adam Szymkowicz and Ken Urban. Directors include Suzanne Agins, Carl Andress, Dominic D'Andrea, John Gould Rubin, Josh Hecht, Andrew Leynse, West Hyler, and Niegel Smith.

"It's wonderful to see so many playwrights involved in the One-Minute Play Festival and to witness it come together is an amazing moment in the theatre," says Andrew Leynse, Primary Stages Artistic Director. "The festival connects writers in all stages of their careers and specifically joins many Primary Stages playwrights from those featured on our mainstage to participants in the Dorothy Strelsin New American Writers Group to students at our school, ESPA. We couldn't be more honored to be this year's host and beneficiary."

LISTINGS INFORMATION: The 8th Annual One Minute Play Festival has two performances at 6pm and 9pm on Wednesday, April 2 at Primary Stages at 59E59 Theaters (59 East 59th Street). Tickets are $25 and may be purchased by calling Ticket Central at (212) 279-4200, online at, or in person at the 59E59 Theaters Box Office. Please visit the website at, or call (212) 840-9705 for additional information.

Photo by Walter McBride

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts