Roundabout's A Touch of the Poet Announces Full Cast

Roundabout Theatre Company (Todd Haimes, Artistic Director) is proud to announce the cast of the new Broadway production of Eugene O'Neill's drama A Touch of the Poet, directed by Tony Award® winner Doug Hughes at Studio 54 on Broadway (254 West 54th Street).

Starring Gabriel Byrne (Cornelius Melody) with Dearbhla Molloy (Nora Melody), Emily Bergl (Sara Melody), John Horton (Nicholas Gadsby), Byron Jennings (Jamie Cregan), Kathryn Meisle (Deborah), Randall Newsome (Paddy O'Dowd), Ciaran O'Reilly (Dan Roche) and Daniel Stewart Sherman (Mickey Maloy).

A Touch of the Poet will begin previews Friday, November 11th, 2005 and opens officially on Thursday, December 8th, 2005. This is a limited engagement through January 29, 2006.

The design team for A Touch of the Poet includes Santo Loquasto (sets & costumes), Chris Akerlind (lights) and David Van Tieghem (sound design and original composition).

Set in a shabby tavern outside Boston in 1828, A Touch of the Poet finds an Irish immigrant who fancies himself as a distinguished gentleman despite all evidence to the contrary. Down-on-his-luck, he finds himself in a quandary when his daughter falls for the son of a wealthy American and he insists on maintaining his European gentility.

Doug Hughes returns to the Roundabout Theatre Company where he directed Jon Robin Baitz's The Paris Letter and Stephen Belber's McReele, both at the Laura Pels Theatre. He will also direct Roundabout's New York premiere of Tony Award® winner Richard Greenberg's new comedy

A Naked Girl on the Appian Way beginning September 13th, 2005. He earned the 2005 Tony©, Drama Desk, Outer Critics Circle and Lucille Lortel Awards for Best Direction of John Patrick Shanley's Doubt. He also earned the 2004 Tony©, Outer Critics Circle & Lucille Lortel nominations for his direction of Bryony Lavery's Frozen.

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts