Ron Holgate, Clifton Duncan and More to Lead Old Globe's THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS; Full Cast Announced!


The Old Globe today announced the cast and creative team for the West Coast Premiere of The Scottsboro Boys, the critically acclaimed musical about an infamous chapter in American history.

Nominated for 12 Tony Awards, The Scottsboro Boys features music and lyrics by the legendary team of John Kander and Fred Ebb, libretto by David Thompson, musical direction by Eric Ebbenga and direction and choreography by five-time Tony Award winner Susan Stroman. The Scottsboro Boys will run April 29 – June 10 on the Donald and Darlene Shiley Stage in the Old Globe Theatre, part of the Globe’s Conrad Prebys Theatre Center. Preview performances run April 29 – May 4. The Scottsboro Boys is presented in association with American Conservatory Theater. Opening night is Saturday, May 5 at 8:00 p.m. Tickets can be purchased online at, by phone at (619) 23-GLOBE or by visiting the Box Office at 1363 Old Globe Way in Balboa Park.

The Scottsboro Boys is a daring new musical based on the notorious “Scottsboro” case in which nine young African American men were unjustly accused of rape in 1930s Alabama. Their lives would eventually spark the Civil Rights Movement. With arresting originality, innovative staging and a breathtaking score, The Scottsboro Boys received 12 Tony Award nominations and was hailed by Entertainment Weekly as “the best new musical of the year.”

The cast of The Scottsboro Boys features Tony Award winner Ron Holgate as The Interlocutor, Clifton Duncan as Haywood Patterson, Jared Joseph as Mr. Bones and JC Montgomery as Mr. Tambo. Holgate won the Tony Award for Featured Actor in a Musical in 1776 and has also been seen on Broadway in A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, Guys and Dolls, Annie Get Your Gun and Kiss Me, Kate. Duncan’s credits include Lost in the Stars at City Center Encores!, Twelfth Night at The Public Theater and the hip-hop solo piece The uniVERSE Project, which he created at Ars Nova. Joseph was last seen in the National Tour of Dreamgirls and is working on Bill T. Jones’ Superfly. Montgomery was part of the original Broadway company of The Scottsboro Boys and has also appeared in the original Broadway productions of The Color Purple, Thou Shalt Not, Swing! and Parade.

The cast also includes David Bazemore (Olen Montgomery), Nile Bullock (Eugene Williams), Christopher James Culberson (Andy Wright), Eric Jackson (Clarence Norris), KendRick Jones (Willie Roberson), James T. Lane (Ozie Powell), Clifton Oliver (Charles Weems), Clinton Roane (Roy Wright) and C. Kelly Wright (The Lady), with Audrey Martells (The Lady Understudy) and Shavey Brown and Max Kumangai (Swings).

The Old Globe’s production of The Scottsboro Boys reunites the original creative team of Jeff Whiting (Associate Director and Choreographer), Beowulf Boritt (Scenic Design), Toni-Leslie James (Costume Design) and Ken Billington (Lighting Design). Boritt and Billington were nominated for Tony Awards for their designs. The creative team also includes Jon Weston (Sound Design), Eric Santagata (Assistant Choreographer), Rick Sordelet (Fight Director), Janet Foster, CSA (Casting) and Joshua Halperin (Stage Manager).

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts