Regis & Kelly, Ellen DeGeneres et al. Win 2011 Daytime Emmy Awards


The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced the winners of the 38th Annual Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards in a live television broadcast on the CBS Television Network from the Las Vegas Hilton last night, June 19, 2011.

Hosted by the entertainer, Wayne Brady, the host of the Daytime Game Show, "Let's Make a Deal," the telecast include an illustrious group of presenters including, Daytime Emmy Award winner Rachael Ray ("The Rachael Ray Show") and Dr. Mehmet Oz ("The Dr. Oz Show") along with Shemar Moore ("Criminal Minds"), the legendary Carol Burnett, Anderson Cooper ("Anderson Cooper 360"), the variety act of Penn & Teller, Meredith Viera (formerly of NBC's "Today Show"), Sherri Shepherd ("The View"), Susan Lucci ("All My Children"), Jillian Michaels ("The Biggest Loser"), along with many of the stars of television's Daytime Drama programs.

Musical performances were made by the inimitable Gladys Knight and Marie Osmond as well as magical presentations by Cirque du Soleil's "Viva Elvis," Jabbawockeez and the Blue Man Group.

The 38th Annual Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to game show hosts Pat Sajak of Wheel of Fortune and Alex Trebek of Jeopardy!
In addition, Oprah Winfrey was honored with the Chairman's Crystal Pillar Award for her three decades on network television.

Associated Television International's (ATI) President and Emmy award-winning producer David McKenzie served as executive producer of the broadcast.

The Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards recognize outstanding achievement in all fields of daytime television production and are presented to individuals and programs broadcast from 2:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m. during the 2010 calendar year.
The 38th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards is a presentation of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in cooperation with the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. A breakdown of the awards by network, as compiled by the independent accounting firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP, follows.

On Friday evening, the Daytime Entertainment Creative Arts Emmy Awards which honors 56 craft categories, the backbone behind everything that is Daytime television, were given out at a special gala at the Westin Bonaventure in downtown Los Angeles. An overflowing crowd of more than 1,000 attendees were treated to a rousing program hosted by Steve Wilkos of "The Steve Wilkos Show," and joined by many of the stars of Daytime television.

The Las Vegas Hilton is the official hotel of the Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards. Spot Shot Instant Carpet Stain Remover is one of the official sponsors of the Red Carpet of the Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards. Hydroxatone is one of the sponsors of the Daytime Emmy Entertainment Emmy Awards and Off The Wall Gifts is the producer of the official Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards Gift Bag and Talent Lounge.

A complete list of tonight's winners follows in addition to a chart showing the combined networks awarded recognition at both the Daytime Broadcast Show and the Daytime Entertainment Creative Arts Emmy Awards:

The Bold and the Beautiful (CBS)

Jeopardy! (SYNDICATED)

Wheel of Fortune (SYNDICATED)


The Dr. Oz Show (SYNDICATED)

Laura Wright, as Carly Corinthos Jacks - General Hospital (ABC)

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts