Playwrights Horizons Announces 2011-12 Season!

March 24
6:47 PM 2011


Playwrights Horizons, under the leadership of Artistic Director Tim Sanford and Managing Director Leslie Marcus, is proud to announce the first five productions of its 2011/2012 Season. The World Premiere and four New York premieres will be presented at the theater company's home at 416 West 42nd Street. The five plays will be (in Season order):

COMPLETENESS - the New York premiere of a new play by Itamar Moses (The Four of Us, Bach at Leipzig), directed by Obie Award winner Pam MacKinnon (Clybourne Park, The Four of Us, Occupant, Peter and Jerry), presented at Playwrights Horizons' Mainstage Theater. COMPLETENESS will be the first production of the season, beginning performances in August 2011.

MILK LIKE SUGAR - the New York premiere of a new play by Kirsten Greenidge in her New York debut, directed by Obie Award winner Rebecca Taichman (Menopausal Gentlemen, Orlando, The Scene), presented at Playwrights Horizons' Peter Jay Sharp Theater. MILK LIKE SUGAR will be presented as a co-production with the Women's Project.

RAPTURE, BLISTER, BURN - the World Premiere of a new play commissioned by Playwrights Horizons with funds from the Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, by Pulitzer Prize finalist and Obie Award winner Gina Gionfriddo (Becky Shaw). Directed by Peter DuBois (Becky Shaw, Measure for Pleasure, Jack Goes Boating, Artistic Director of Huntington Theatre Company), the play will be presented at Playwrights Horizons' Mainstage Theater.

ASSISTANCE - the New York premiere of a new play by Leslye Headland (Bachelorette), directed by Trip Cullman (A Small Fire, The Drunken City and Manic Flight Reaction at PH, Bachelorette), presented at Playwrights Horizons' Mainstage Theater.

THE BIG MEAL - the New York premiere of a new play by Dan LeFranc (Sixty Miles to Silver Lake for P73/Soho Rep, In the Labyrinth at Soho Rep), directed by Obie Award winner Sam Gold (Circle Mirror Transformation and the current Kin at PH, Tigers Be Still, The Aliens, The Coward), presented at Playwrights Horizons' Peter Jay Sharp Theater.

Bios and production details for the first five productions of the 2011/2012 Season can be found starting on page 3 of this release. A sixth and final production, as well as all casting information and dates for all six shows, will be announced in the coming months.

Three brand-new subscription packages to Playwrights Horizons' 2011/2012 season will be available shortly: a 6-show Subscription package ($225, four Mainstage and two Peter Jay Sharp Theater Productions); FlexPass (4+ tickets, $45-50 per ticket); and Membership ($55 membership fee + one ticket at $40 or less for each show, as desired). In addition, the company will continue to offer 30&Under Membership ($20 membership fee + one $20 ticket for each show, as desired); and Student Membership ($10 membership fee + one $10 ticket for each show, as desired). In addition to discounts on all Mainstage season attractions, subscribers receive priority booking and seating, ticket exchange privileges, parking and dining discounts, and exclusive mailings of Playwrights Horizons Bulletins. Packages will be available at shortly.

Playwrights Horizons, currently celebrating its 40th Anniversary Season, is a writer's theater dedicated to the support and development of contemporary American Playwrights, composers and lyricists and to the production of their new work. Under the leadership of artistic director Tim Sanford and managing director Leslie Marcus, the theater company continues to encourage the new work of veteran writers while nurturing an emerging generation of theater artists. In its 40 years, Playwrights Horizons has presented the work of more than 375 writers and has received numerous awards and honors, including a special 2008 Drama Desk Award for "ongoing support to generations of theater artists and undiminished commitment to producing new work." Notable productions include four Pulitzer Prize winners: Doug Wright's I Am My Own Wife (2004 Tony Award, Best Play), Wendy Wasserstein's The Heidi Chronicles (1989 Tony Award, Best Play), Alfred Uhry's Driving Miss Daisy and Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine's Sunday in the Park with George, as well as the current Kin by Bathsheba Doran, Annie Baker's Circle Mirror Transformation (three 2010 Obie Awards including Best New American Play), Adam Bock's A Small Fire, Bruce Norris' Clybourne Park and The Pain and the Itch, Amy Herzog's After the Revolution, Edward Albee's Me, Myself & I, Melissa James Gibson's This (2010 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize finalist), Doug Wright, Scott Frankel and Michael Korie's Grey Gardens (three 2007 Tony Awards), Craig Lucas's Prayer For My Enemy and Small Tragedy (2004 Obie Award, Best American Play), Adam Rapp's Kindness, Sarah Ruhl's Dead Man's Cell Phone, Lynn Nottage's Fabulation (2005 Obie Award for Playwriting), Kenneth Lonergan's Lobby Hero, David Greenspan's She Stoops to Comedy (2003 Obie Award), Kirsten Childs's The Bubbly Black Girl Sheds Her Chameleon Skin (2000 Obie Award), Richard Nelson and Shaun Davey's James Joyce's The Dead, Stephen Sondheim and John Weidman's Assassins, William Finn's March of the Falsettos and Falsettoland, Christopher Durang's Betty's Summer Vacation and Sister Mary Ignatius Explains It All For You, Richard Nelson's Goodnight Children Everywhere, Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty's Once on This Island, Jon Robin Baitz's The Substance of Fire, Scott McPherson's Marvin's Room, A.R. Gurney's Later Life, Adam Guettel and Tina Landau's Floyd Collins and Jeanine Tesori and Brian Crawley's Violet.

Playwrights Horizons' season productions are generously supported by The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs.

Playwrights Horizons is supported in part by public funds from the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York State Council on the Arts and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs. In addition, Playwrights Horizons receives major support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, The Shubert Foundation, Time Warner Inc., the Charina Endowment Fund and the Peter Jay Sharp Foundation.

Fpr additional information, click here



Backstage with Richard Ridge
Back to Falsettoland w/ OBC - Passing the Torch
Backstage Bite
BWW TV Exclusive: BACKSTAGE BITE with Katie Lynch and PARAMOUR's Ruby Lewis!
Turning the Tables
Randy Rainbow w/ FIDDLER Cast
  Chewing the Scenery with Randy Rainbow