Click Here for More Articles on 2012 AWARDS SEASON

Photo Coverage: The Drama League Awards 2012 - The Gentlemen

The Drama League announced yesterday, May 18, the winners for the 78th Annual Drama League Awards at the Marriott Marquis Times Square. BroadwayWorld was there and brings you photos of the gentlemen who gathered for the ceremony. See below for photos of Matthew Broderick, Ricky Martin, Blair Underwood, Andrew Garfield, John Lithgow, Christian Borle, Roger Rees, Steve Kazee, Harvey Fierstein, Michael Cerveris and more!

The winners: Distinguished Play, Other Desert Cities, presented by Philip Seymour Hoffman; Distinguished Revival of a Play, Death of a Salesman, presented by Christian Borle; Distinguished Production of a Musical, Once, presented by Cynthia Nixon; Distinguished Revival of a Musical, Follies, presented by Kelli O’Hara; and Distinguished Performance, Audra McDonald, presented by John Lithgow at a star-studded luncheon ceremony hosted by Stockard Channing (Other Desert Cities) and John Larroquette (Gore Vidal’s The Best Man).

The Drama League also honored three outstanding theatre luminaries at this year’s awards ceremony, and among them was eight-time Academy Award-winner, theatre and movie composer Alan Menken, who received the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award in recognition of his contribution to the musical theatre. See him among the gentlemen below.

The Drama League gathered together a team of Broadway’s best to serve as Honorary Co-Chairs for the 78TH Annual Drama League Awards that included Christian Borle, Jeremy Jordan, Norm Lewis and Blair Underwood, all also pictured below!

The Drama League Awards honor distinguished productions, performances, and exemplary career achievements in musical theatre and directing. First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatergoer awards chosen by audience members — specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway productions. 2012 Nominees were selected from over 170 productions.

For the full list of winners, click here and to see the lovely ladies in attendance at the awards, follow this link!

Related Articles

From This Author Walter McBride

Walter McBride As a 14 year old youth, Walter was transfixed by his first Broadway Show, the original production of 'GREASE'. His Journey to celebrity photojournalism began (read more...)

  • Photo Coverage: CHARLIE & THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY Celebrates 100 Sweet Performances!
  • Photo Coverage: Nancy Opel & CURVY WIDOW Company Prepare for Off Broadway!
  • Photo Coverage: Liz Callaway Previews THE BEAT GOES ON at Feinstein's/54 Below
  • Up On The Marquee: THE BAND'S VISIT
  • Up On The Marquee: ONCE ON THIS ISLAND
  • Up On The Marquee: PRINCE OF BROADWAY
  • Before you go...