Photo Coverage: 2005 Gay Pride Awards

June 27
11:04 AM 2005
Hollywood and theater stars were on hand for the 2005 Gay Pride Awards at City Hall on June 23rd, and so was BroadwayWorld!

City Council Speaker Gifford Miller and Council Members Christine C. Quinn, Phil Reed, Margarita Lopez and others held a press event before "Hollywood and Broadway's Salute to Pride," which took place in Council Chambers. Fran Drescher of The Nanny, Laurel Holloman of The L Word, Kelly Osbourne of The Osbournes, The Fab Five from Queer Eye, Robert Goulet and Gary Beach of the Broadway musical La Cage Aux Folles and other entertainers received awards at the event. The "Special Civil Rights Award" is presented to entertainers whose work on behalf of the LGBT community is changing the City, the country, and the world, for the better.

Founding Chair of the pioneering American Foundation for AIDS Research (AmFAR), Dr. Mathilde Krim; Director of Public Policy and Government Relations for the LGBT Community Services Center of New York, Miriam Yeung; and other advocates were also honored.


Ethan Geto (political PR consultant and long time gay activist) addresses the crowd

Gifford Miller (City Council Speaker)

Recipient's of the "Special Civil Rights Award," Christian Campbell, Robert Goulet and Gary Beach

Recipient's of the "Special Civil Rights Award," Carson Kressley, Kelly Osbourne, Jai Rodriguez and Thom Filicia

Recipient of the "Special Civil Rights Award," Christopher Sieber, Presenter John C. Reilly and Christian Campbell

Presenter Cady Huffman, Presenter Marty Richards and Gary Beach

Denise Conaty, Carson Kressley and Michael Conaty

Recipient of the "Special Civil Rights Award"
Sara Ramirez and Christopher Sieber

Recipient of the "Special Civil Rights Award,"
Kyan Douglas, Gregory and Christian Campbell

Recipient of the "Special Civil Rights Award"
Fran Drescher

Christian Campbell

Nikki Snelson and Christian Campbell

Fran Drescher with her parents

Sara Ramirez and Christopher Sieber

John C. Reilly and Fran Drescher

Fran Drescher and Kelly Osbourne

Recipient's of the "Special Civil Rights Award,"
The Fab Five from Bravo's Queer Eye, Thom Filicia, Ted Allen,
Jai Rodriguez, Carson Kressley and Kyan Douglas

Carson Kressley and Jai Rodruguez

Gillford Miller, Fran Drescher and Allen Roskoff (Gay Activist)


Related Articles

About the Author

Get Author Alerts


Backstage with Richard Ridge
Back to Falsettoland w/ OBC - Passing the Torch
Backstage Bite
TV Exclusive: BACKSTAGE BITE with AVENUE Q's Elizabeth Ann Berg
Turning the Tables
Randy Rainbow w/ FIDDLER Cast
  Chewing the Scenery with Randy Rainbow
2nd Annual ElphaBall Takes Over Tonight's BROADWAY SESSIONS