Original ABBA Members to Perform with MAMMA MIA! Cast at 2014 Olivier Awards

Original ABBA Members to Perform with MAMMA MIA! Cast at 2014 Olivier Awards

The Olivier Awards with MasterCard - the most prestigious event in the UK's theatrical calendar - has revealed further details of the 2014 awards ceremony to be held on Sunday 13 April at the Royal Opera House and broadcast from 22:15 that evening on ITV in a full highlights package.

To celebrate 15 years of the hit show MAMMA MIA!, ABBA's Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus will be reuniting to appear with the current LondonMAMMA MIA! company in the grand finale at this year's Olivier Awards‎ with MasterCard.

Two time Tony Award© winning actress and acclaimed interpreter of Stephen Sondheim's music and lyrics, Bernadette Peters, will be flying into London specially to perform at the Olivier Awards, accompanied by the BBC Concert Orchestra, who will back the entire evening's entertainment.

Joseph Calleja, the internationally renowned tenor currently singing the title role in the Royal Opera's production of Gounod's Faust, will bring the first half of the evening to a close by performing E lucevan le stelle from Puccini's Tosca.

The evening will feature exclusive performances from all four nominees in the MasterCard

Best New Musical category - The Book Of Mormon, Charlie And The Chocolate Factory, Once and The Scottsboro Boys, in addition to performances from all the BBC Radio 2 Audience Awards nominees - LES MISERABLES, Matilda The Musical, The Phantom Of The Opera and Wicked.

The BBC Concert Orchestra will be playing for all performances under the musical supervision of David Charles Abell, with orchestrations and original music by Larry Blank and further orchestration by Mark Cumberland.

Watch the stars arrive on the red carpet as the excitement builds from 17.00. Guest presenters include Michael Ball, Samantha Barks, Kristin Davis, LesleyGarrett, Nigel Harman, Rufus Hound, Beverley Knight, Dame Penelope Keith, Robert Lindsay, Dame Gillian Lynne, Ben Miles, Alistair McGowan,Marianela Núñez, Lesley Sharpe, Mark Strong, Luke Treadaway, Gok Wan, Ruth Wilson & Leigh Zimmerman with more special guests on the night.

This year's list of Olivier nominees is as star-studded as ever including Hayley Atwell, Anna Chancellor, Judi Dench, Joyce DiDonato, Plácido Domingo,Juan Diego Florez, Henry Goodman, Rory Kinnear, Tom Hiddleston, Jude Law and Lesley Manville.

As previously announced, Gemma Arterton and Stephen Mangan will host proceedings with voiceover by Julie Walters.

Photo Credit: Peter James Zielinski

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts