Laura Osnes, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, et al. Featured on GEORGIA STITT Album; 11/29 Release


SH-K-BOOM RECORDS will release the new CD from Georgia Stitt, the award winning and critically acclaimed composer and lyricist. My Lifelong Love features thirteen of Stitt's original songs performed by some of the entertainment industry's most exciting singers, including Jesse Tyler Ferguson (TV's "Modern Family," The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee), Anika Noni Rose (The Princess and the Frog, Dreamgirls, TV's "The Good Wife"), Brian d'Arcy James (TV's "Smash," Shrek, Titanic), Susan Egan (Beauty And The Beast, Thoroughly Modern Millie), Shoshana Bean (Wicked, Hairspray), Heidi Blickenstaff ([title of show], The Addams Family), Laura Osnes (Anything Goes, Bonnie and Clyde), Christopher Jackson (In The Heights, TV's "The Electric Company"), Michael Arden (Bare, Source Code), jazz duo Jessica Molaskey and John Pizzarelli, Kate Baldwin (Finian's Rainbow) and Michael McElroy (Rent, Broadway Inspirational Voices). The recording will be available on November 29, 2011. You can pre-order the album at

Stitt's My Lifelong Love is a collection of songs about love in its many incarnations: first love, lost love, love of music, love of children, and ultimately, love of self. Deeply personal and written from a distinctly female point of view, Stitt's music draws from classical, pop, gospel and musical theater influences. With lush orchestrations by Don Sebesky, Jason Robert Brown, Sam Davis and Stitt herself, each of these songs illuminates an emotional truth with thrilling and sensitive musical storytelling. In addition to the lyrics by traditional musical theater writers like Marcy Heisler and Bil Wright, My Lifelong Love also features Stitt's settings of poetry by Dorothy Parker, Derek Walcott, Alicia Partnoy and the Bard himself, William Shakespeare. Music by Sam Davis and David Kirshenbaum is also showcased, with lyrics by Stitt.

Georgia's first two albums are This Ordinary Thursday - which features performances by Matthew Morrison, Kelli O'Hara, Cheyenne Jackson, Faith Prince, Sara Ramirez and more - and Alphabet City Cycle, both available on the PS Classics label and iTunes. Next Magazine called her songs "rich and deep and intelligent, demanding instant repeating." Talkin' Broadway praised her work for its "ability to capture feelings deftly and daringly through music that grabs the mind and gut, but in a fresh, non-calculated way."

In addition to her recordings, Georgia has written the original musicals Big Red Sun (with playwright John Jiler); Hello! My Baby (a "new-fashioned" musical written with Emmy Award winner Cheri Steinkellner), The Water (with Jeff Hylton and Tim Werenko); the musical revue Sing Me A Happy Song; and Mosaic (Off-Broadway, with Cheri Steinkellner). Her non-theatrical compositions include several choral pieces, With Hope And Virtue, featured on NPR and using text from President Obama's 2009 inauguration speech, De Profundis, premiered by the International Orange Chorale in San Francisco, and Joyful Noise, a setting of Psalm 100 (all published by G. Schirmer), as well as A Better Resurrection and The Promise of Light (Walton Music).

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts