LEAP OF FAITH Cast Album Gets 12/4 Release; Track List Announced!

Ghostlight Records will release the Original Broadway Cast Recording of the Tony®-nominated musical, LEAP OF FAITH, featuring a roof-raising new score by Oscar® and Tony®- winning composer Alan Menken (Beauty and the Beast, Little Shop of Horrors) and Grammy®-winning lyricist Glenn Slater (Tangled), to digital outlets on December 4, 2012 and in stores on December 18, 2012. CD pre-orders are now on sale at http://sh-k-boom.com/leapoffaith.shtml

Four-time Tony Award® nominee Raúl Esparza (Cabaret, Company) stars as Jonas Nightingale, an electrifying performer and rabble rouser who's planning to take the whole town for a ride. But when a small-town girl stops him in his tracks, this hustler may just discover something to believe in. The creative team also includes bookwriters Janus Cercone and Tony®-winner Warren Leight (Side Man); choreographer Sergio Trujillo (Jersey Boys); and Christopher Ashley, director of the Tony®-winning Best Musical Memphis. LEAP OF FAITH was nominated for the 2012 Tony® Award for Best Musical.

In an excerpt from his note in the album’s beautiful accompanying booklet—which also includes full lyrics and color photos – composer Alan Menken had this to say about the new recording: “This musical went through a trial by fire on Broadway. And in the end, our brave and beautiful actors and musicians brought their hearts and souls to the stage of the St. James Theater. We were rewarded with a Tony nomination for Best Musical. And a week later we closed. Some will feel the need to understand why that happened. But in the end I content myself with knowing that this journey is far from over. This album is the beginning of a new chapter in the story of LEAP OF FAITH; one in which it will be given new life out in the world because of the beautiful and heartfelt performances on this album.”

In addition to Esparza, the cast recording features Talon Ackerman, Hettie Barnhill, Krystal Joy Brown, Ta'Rea Campbell, Michelle Duffy, Lynorris Evans, Maoly Farrell, Dierdre Friel, Bob Gaynor, Lucia Giannetta, Angela Grovey, Louis Hobson, Tiffany Janene Howard, Kendra Kassebaum, Grasan Kingsberry, Kecia Lewis-Evans, Maurice Murphy, Leslie Odom, Jr., Ian Paget, Jessica Phillips, Terita Redd, Eliseo Roman, Bryce Ryness, Ann Sanders, C.E. Smith, Danny Stiles, Dennis Stowe, Betsy Struxness, Roberta Wall, and Virginia Ann Woodruff.

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts