2012 AWARDS SEASON Articles
Click Here for More Articles on 2012 AWARDS SEASON...

JEKYLL & HYDE's Constantine Maroulis and Deborah Cox to Host 2012 Jimmy Awards, 6/25

Deborah Cox (Host) is a multi-platinum selling and a multi-talented entertainer, Cox has conquered the R&B and pop charts, including six top-20 Billboard R&B singles, an impressive eleven #1 hits on Billboard's Hot Dance Club Play chart and the lead role in Elton John and Tim Rice's Broadway musical, Aida. While singing with Celine Dion, Cox was discovered by the infamous Clive Davis and instantly signed to Arista records. Her gold selling debut album Deborah Cox was released in 1995. In 1998 she followed up with the release of her second CD One Wish. From this CD came the double platinum "Nobody's Supposed To Be Here" which held the record for being the longest running #1 R&B Single for 14 consecutive weeks and earned her a Lady of Soul and a Soul Train Award. Her second single "We Can't Be Friends" also went to #1 on Billboard's singles chart and sold over 500,000 copies. "Things Just Ain't The Same" and "It's Over Now" followed. Deborah has sung with Andrea Bocelli, toured with David Foster, Cyndi Lauper and Sarah Mac Lachlan with Lilith Fair. She was also invited to perform for First Lady Michelle Obama and most recently President Obama. In 2000 Deborah collaborated with Whitney Houston to record the duet "Same Script Different Cast" for her Greatest Hits CD. Her third album, "The Morning After" was released in 2002 with "Up & Down (In & Out)" co-written with Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis. In 2003, her fourth album "Remixed" was releasedfeaturing her Billboard chart topping dance remixes. In 2012, Deborah garnered her 11th number one Billboard Dance single with "If It Wasn't For Love". In addition to roles in both film and television, Deborah also released her fifth album, a Grammy nominated tribute album "Destination Moon" to the legendary Dinah Washington in 2007 (Universal). That same year she also received The Civil Rights Award from the New York Senate for her efforts in the fight for Human Rights and equality. In 2008, she formed Deco Recording Group and released her sixth studio album The Promise, where she earned her 10th #1 spot on the Billboard Dance Chart with the international hit "Beautiful U R". Behind the scenes, Deborah has recorded singles for several film soundtracks including Akeelah and the Bee, "Hotel Rwanda, Kingdom Come, Money Talks, A Good Man is Hard To Find and Tyler Perry's "Meet the Browns."

James M. Nederlander, or Jimmy as he is known in the theatrical community, is the Chairman of the Nederlander Producing Company of America Inc. For over 60 years, he has been the producer of distinguished entertainment for which he has received 34 nominations and won 11 Tony® Awards for Best Production of a musical or play and has presented artists ranging from Nureyev to Sinatra to Billy Joel to U2. The Broadway League recently bestowed the Gerald Schoenfeld Vision for the Arts in Education Award to Jimmy for establishing The National High School Musical Theater Awards.

THE NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL THEATER AWARDS (NHSMTA)/JIMMY AWARDS was created to elevate the profile of in-school arts education across America, provide college scholarships and create a pathway connecting promising young performers to the professional theater industry. 1,000 high schools and 50,000 teenagers nationwide participate in the program annually. Students who win the lead actor and actress awards at their regional high school musical theater awards competitions convene in New York City for 5-days of private coaching and rehearsals at the New Studio on Broadway, NYU Tisch School of the Arts Department of Drama in preparation for their Broadway debut at The Jimmy Awards. The program was founded in 2009 by Pittsburgh CLO and Nederlander Alliances LLC, under the leadership of James L. Nederlander, and is produced by The Broadway Education Alliance in association with Pittsburgh CLO. It has been supported by The National Endowment for the Arts, The Broadway League, The Shubert Organization and other industry organizations and foundations committed to nurturing future artists and audiences. The Jimmy™ Award is named for James M. Nederlander, the legendary Broadway theater owner, in honor of his vision and generous support of young artists.

BROADWAY EDUCATION ALLIANCE is a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to supporting the theatre industry through the development of coalition programs between performing arts institutions and philanthropic partnerships with public and private entities. The mission is to raise awareness around and fund arts education programs and provide services that inspire creativity, build confidence and stimulate thinking in American's youth. The organization is a member of the New York Institute of Technology's Education Enterprise Zone.

Pittsburgh CLO has been the driving force behind live musical theater in Pittsburgh and the Southwestern Pennsylvania region since 1946. Under the direction of Van Kaplan since 1997, this not-for-profit arts organization appreciates the support of nearly 200,000 patrons each year and produces a subscription series, educational programs and develops and invests in new works and national tours, including 13 Broadway shows (13 Tony® Awards) including the current production of Evita and the national tour of The Addams Family. The organization's dedication to the musical theater art form includes programs such as the CLO Academy, the CLO Mini Stars, the Gene Kelly Awards, the Richard Rodgers Award, the Construction Center for the Arts, the CLO Cabaret and The National High School Musical Theater Awards.

NYU Tisch School of the Arts Department of Drama integrates a combination of rigorous professional theatre training and broad-ranging academic education. In partnership with some of the country's foremost professional theatre training institutions, the program offers comprehensive theatre courses in acting, directing, musical performance, design, and theatre production. The program also offers an expansive and innovative academic curriculum. The faculty is composed of nationally and internationally recognized theatre artists, scholars, and theorists. The curriculum is further enriched by required courses in the humanities and social sciences. An extensive internship program connects students to the professional theatre community of New York City. The program is complemented by challenging and innovative productions that welcome guest artists from a range of culture and artistic perspectives. Graduates of the program include Alec Baldwin '94, Kristen Bell '02, Raúl Esparza '92, Philip Seymour Hoffman '89, Bryce Dallas Howard '03, Felicity Huffman '88, Dan Jinks '85, Moisés Kaufman '89, John Leguizamo '83, Michael Longoria '02, Idina Menzel '93, Molly Shannon '87, and Chandra Wilson '91.

« Page 1

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts