Click for More Articles on NEW YORK CITY...

Hyeyung Yoon and Soyeon Kate Lee to Give NY Debut of Sirota Violin Sonata at SubCulture, 3/26

About Robert Sirota: Over the last four decades as a composer, Robert Sirota has developed a distinctive voice, clearly discernable in all of his work - whether symphonic, choral, stage, or chamber music. The New York Times has described his style as, "fashioned with the clean, angular melodies, tart harmonies, lively syncopations and punchy accents of American Neo-Classicism," and writes, "Thick, astringent chromatic harmonies come in tightly bound chords to create nervous sonorities. Yet the textures are always lucid; details come through."

Robert Sirota's work has garnered praise from audiences and critics alike throughout the United States and abroad, at venues including Carnegie Hall's Zankel and Weill Recital Halls, Merkin Hall in New York, The Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Tanglewood Music Center, the Aspen Music Festival, the Yellow Barn Music Festival, Benaroya Hall in Seattle, and at The Juilliard School, the Shepherd School of Music, Peabody, Oberlin Conservatory, Yong Siew Toh Conservatory in Singapore, Royal Conservatory in Toronto, and the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow. His commissions include works for the Empire Brass, the American Guild of Organists, the Vermont Symphony Orchestra, the Seattle Symphony, the Fischer Duo, the Peabody Trio, the Webster Trio, and the Chiara String Quartet.

Recent performances of Sirota's music include the New York premieres of his latest two orchestral works, A Rush of Wings and 212: Symphony No. 1; Holy Women, a cantata for nine singers and chamber ensemble, with a libretto by Victoria Sirota; and his chamber opera The Clever Mistress as part of The Cutting Edge Concerts New Music Festival at Symphony Space. Recent world premieres include holy ghosts, commissioned to commemorate the 30th Anniversary of the installation of the historic Appleton Organ at The Metropolitan Museum of Art in May 2012, as well as two violin sonatas written for Hyeyung Julie Yoon and Laurie Carney, and a fanfare written for the string quaret ETHEL. For more information, visit

« Page 1

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts