Eddie Redmayne, Imelda Staunton, and More Make Evening Standard Theatre Awards Longlist

The Evening Standard Theatre Awards, established in 1955, are presented annually for outstanding achievements in London Theatre, and this year's nominations longlist has just been announced. Sponsored by the Evening Standard newspaper, this year's shortlist will be announced on November 12 and the winners revealed on November 25.

The full longlist is as follows:

Best Play

Choir Boy by Tarell Alvin McCraney (Royal Court Upstairs)

Constellations by Nick Payne (Royal Court Upstairs)

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Simon Stephens (National’s Cottesloe)

Jumpy by April De Angelis (Royal Court Downstairs and Duke of York)

The Last of the Duchess by Nicholas Wright (Hampstead)

Love and Information by Caryl Churchill (Royal Court Downstairs)

Love Love Love by Mike Bartlett (Royal Court Downstairs)

Reasons to Be Pretty by Neil LaBute (Almeida)

South Downs by David Hare (Chichester Minerva and the Harold Pinter)

This House by James Graham (National’s Cottesloe)

The Witness by Vivienne Franzmann (Royal Court Upstairs)

Best Director

Benedict Andrews for Three Sisters (Young Vic)

Lucy Bailey for Uncle Vanya (The Print Room)

Tom Cairns for Scenes from an Execution (National’s Lyttelton)

Carrie Cracknell for A Doll’s House (Young Vic)

Marianne Elliott for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time (National’s Cottesloe)

Polly Findlay for Antigone (National’s Lyttelton)

Sean Foley for The Ladykillers (Gielgud)

Jeremy Herrin for This House (National’s Cottesloe)

Nicholas Hytner for Timon of Athens (National’s Olivier)

Jonathan Kent for Sweeney Todd (Chichester Festival and Adelphi)

James MacDonald for Love and Information (Royal Court Downstairs)

Roger Michell for Farewell to the Theatre (Hampstead)

Lindsay Posner for Noises Off (Old Vic and Novello)

Ian Rickson for Hamlet (Young Vic)

Josie Rourke for The Recruiting Officer (Donmar Warehouse)

Lyndsey Turner for Philadelphia, Here I Come! (Donmar Warehouse)

Best Actor

Simon Russell Beale, Collaborators (National’s Cottesloe and Olivier)

Charles Edwards, The King’s Speech (Wyndham’s) and This House (National’s Cottesloe)

Rupert Everett, The Judas Kiss (Hampstead)

Laurence Fox, Our Boys (Duchess)

David Haig, The Madness of George III (Theatre Royal Bath and Apollo)

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts