Click Here for More Articles on THE TRIP TO BOUNTIFUL...

Cicely Tyson to Make Broadway Return Starring in THE TRIP TO BOUNTIFUL this Spring at Sondheim Theatre!

Director Michael Wilson is one of the most acclaimed interpreters of Horton Foote's plays, having directed Dividing the Estate on Broadway, as well as the premiere of Foote's three part, nine hour epic The Orphans' Home Cycle, for which he received a Drama Desk and the Outer Critics Circle Award for Outstanding Direction of a Play. He also staged Foote's The Carpetbagger's Children for Lincoln Center Theatre and The Day Emily Married for Primary Stages. Other Broadway credits include Gore Vidal's The Best Man, Enchanted April, and Old Acquaintance. Off-Broadway, his productions include Defying Gravity, Chasing Manet, Picked (Vineyard Theatre), What Didn't Happen (Playwrights Horizons), and the upcoming revival of Talley's Folly for Roundabout Theatre Company. He has directed at our country's major theaters, including the Alley, the A.R.T., Goodman, Guthrie, and Old Globe Theatres, as well as Hartford Stage, where he was Artistic Director from 1998-2011.

Awarded the National Medal of Arts Award from President Clinton in 2000, Horton Foote'S prolific writing career began with his first play, Texas Town, produced Off-Broadway in 1941. Since then his plays have been produced on Broadway, Off-Broadway, Off Off-Broadway, and at many theaters around the country. His plays include Dividing the Estate, Young Man From Atlanta (Pulitzer Prize), The Trip to Bountiful, The Carpetbagger's Children, The Day Emily Married, The Last of the Thorntons, The Chase, The Traveling Lady, Night Seasons, Tomorrow, The Habitation of Dragons, Laura Dennis, Vernon Early, The Roads to Home and the nine-play The Orphans' Home Cycle - Roots in a Parched Ground, Convicts, Lily Dale, The Widow Claire, Courtship, Valentine's Day, 1918, Cousins and The Death of Papa (New York Drama Critics Circle Award). He received Academy Awards for his screenplay adaption of To Kill a Mockingbird and his original screenplay, Tender Mercies. Awards include Obie and Outer Critics Circle Awards for Dividing the Estate, Lortel Award for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway and the Outer Critics Circle Special Achievement Award for the Signature Theatre series of his plays, Drama Desk Lifetime Achievement Award, American Academy of Arts and Letters Gold Medal of Drama for his body of work, PEN/Laura Pels Foundation Award for Drama, and New York State Governor's Award. Honors: Theatre Hall of Fame (1996), elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters (1998). His memoirs, Farewell and Beginnings, are published by Scribners.

Horton Foote's The Trip to Bountiful premiered as a teleplay on NBC in 1953, starring Lillian Gish as Carrie Watts. The play had its Broadway premiere later that year with the same cast, which also included Eva Marie Saint. The play was adapted by Mr. Foote into an acclaimed 1985 film starring Geraldine Page, for which she won the Academy Award. In 2005, Signature Theatre produced the play Off-Broadway starring Lois Smith, for which she won Lortel, Obie, Outer Critics and Drama Desk Awards.

THE TRIP TO BOUNTIFUL's award winning creative team has interpreted a number of plays and films by Horton Foote: Jeff Cowie (scenery), Van Broughton Ramsey (costumes), Rui Rita (lighting), and John Gromada (original music and sound design).

For more information please visit

« Page 1

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts