ROCKY Articles
Click for More Articles on ROCKY...

Breaking: ROCKY Original Broadway Cast Recording Gets May Release; Track List Revealed

Breaking: ROCKY Original Broadway Cast Recording Gets May Release; Track List Revealed

Universal Music Enterprises, Stage Entertainment USA, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer and Sylvester Stallone announced today the forthcoming release of the new original Broadway cast recording of ROCKY, on May 27th, 2014 (UMe).

ROCKY has an original score by the Tony Award-winning team Stephen Flaherty and Lynn Ahrens (Ragtime, Once On This Island), who are the album's producers; additionally the score incorporates the iconic songs "Eye Of The Tiger" and "Gonna Fly Now." The musical, which opened Thursday, March 13th at the historic Winter Garden Theatre, stars Andy Karl as Rocky, Margo Seibert as Adrian (making her Broadway debut), Terence Archie as Apollo Creed and features a superb ensemble.

Elliot Scheiner, a seven-time Grammy Award winner who has worked with the Foo Fighters, Paul Simon, Sting, Eric Clapton, the Eagles, Van Morrison and dozens more artists, is recording and mixing the album. He first worked with Ahrens & Flaherty on the Broadway show Seussical. Bob Ludwig of Gateway Mastering is mastering the album.

With a book by multiple Tony Award-winner Thomas Meehan (The Producers, Hairspray, Annie) and Mr. Stallone, who was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay for the 1976 MGM/United Artists Oscar-winning Best Picture, Rocky brings to life the iconic and inspiring story of struggling small time Philly boxer, Rocky Balboa, who gets a once-in-a-lifetime shot to go the distance against heavyweight champ Apollo Creed. Both an adrenaline-infused spectacle and a surprising story of blossoming romance between two lonely outsiders, Rocky is a heart-stopping and viscerally theatrical new musical for everyone brave enough to follow their dream.

ROCKY is directed by Tony nominee Alex Timbers (Bloody, Bloody Andrew Jackson) and features choreography by Tony nominee Steven Hoggett (Once) and Kelly Devine (Rock of Ages) with orchestrations by Stephen Trask and Tony winner Doug Besterman, musical supervision by David Holcenberg and musical direction by Chris Fenwick.

ROCKY is produced by Stage Entertainment USA and Sylvester Stallone with Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, The Shubert Organization, Kevin King-Templeton, James L. Nederlander & Terry Allen Kramer, Roy Furman, Cheryl Wiesenfeld, Zane Tankel, Lucky Champions, Scott Delman, JFL Theaticals/Judith Ann Abrams, Latitude Link, Waxman/Shin/Bergère and Lauren Stevens/Josh Goodman.


Act I
1. Ain't Down Yet - Company, Fight Promoter, Gazzo, Buddy
2. My Nose Ain't Broken - Rocky Balboa
3. Raining - Adrian
4. Patriotic - Apollo Creed, Apollo's Manager, Miles Jergens, Apollo Girls, Ensemble
5. My Nose Ain't Broken (Reprise) - Rocky
6. The Flip Side - Rocky, Adrian
7. Adrian - Rocky
8. Wanna Know Why - Gazzo, Buddy, Rocky, Mickey
9. Fight From The Heart - Rocky
10. One Of Us - Company

Act II
11. Training Montage 1 - Orchestra
12. In The Ring - Mickey
13. Training Montage 2 (feat. Eye Of The Tiger) - Company
14. Happiness - Rocky, Adrian
15. I'm Done - Adrian
16. Southside Celebrity - Company, Rocky, Apollo
17. Undefeated Man - Apollo & His Entourage
18. Keep On Standing - Rocky
19. The Fight (Round 15) - Company

Photo by Matthew Murphy

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts