BWW TV: Bobby Cannavale, Ellen Barkin et al. Honor George C. Wolfe with SDC 'Mr. Abbott' Prize

October 4
6:14 PM 2011

Last night, October 3, Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation (SDCF), just honored acclaimed director George C. Wolfe with the 2011 "Mr. Abbott" Award for his incredible breadth and depth of work in the American Theatre. Broadway Beat was on hand for the event and takes you inside the ceremony below!

The Award was presented at a gala tribute event at The Edison Ballroom 240 West 47th Street, last night, October 3rd. The tribute to George was written by John Guare and directed by Jack O'Brien. The music director was Jeanine Tesori, and the choreography is by Hope Clarke. It featured those who have worked with George over the years including, Bobby Cannavale, Ann Duquesnay, John Benjamin Hickey, Joe Mantello, Tonya Pinkins, Ruben Santiago-Hudson and Charlayne Woodard, among others.

The "Mr. Abbott" Award is named in honor of renowned director George Abbott and is one of the only awards given to theatre directors and choreographers by their peers. This honor is presented to a director or choreographer in recognition of lifetime achievement. Past honorees have included Hal Prince, Susan Stroman, Lloyd Richards, Kathleen and Rob Marshall, Tommy Tune, and Michael Bennett.

George C. Wolfe's incredibly distinguished career in the theatre has significantly impacted the theatrical community and the world at large. His varied and impressive directing credits for the theatre include Jelly's Last Jam (Drama Desk and Outer Critics Awards), Angels In America - Millennium Approaches (Tony and Drama Desk Awards) and Perestroika (Drama Desk Award), Bring In ‘Da Noise, Bring In ‘Da Funk (Tony and Drama League Awards), Topdog/ Underdog (Obie Award), Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992 (Drama Desk Award), Elaine Stritch: At Liberty (Tony Award-Unique Theatrical Event), The Tempest, The Wild Party, Caroline, or Change, A Free Man of Color and The Normal Heart (Drama Desk Award).

Mr. Wolfe is the writer of the award-winning The Colored Museum, which he also directed for PBS. He adapted and directed Spunk (Obie Award), created Harlem Song for the world famous Apollo Theatre and conceived/directed a celebration of the American Musical at the White House. At Lyric Opera of Chicago he directed Amistad and for the Public, Blade to the Heat, The Caucasian Chalk Circle, Radiant Baby, Macbeth and On the Town.

He directed Lackawanna Blues for HBO which earned him The Directors Guild Award, a National Board of Review Award, an Independent Spirit Nomination for Best First Feature, a Christopher Award and the Humanitas Prize. Lackawanna Blues also won four NAACP Image Awards, earned seven Emmy Award nominations and premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. Mr. Wolfe made his feature film debut directing Richard Gere and Diane Lane in Nights in Rodanthe.


BWW TV: Bobby Cannavale, Ellen Barkin et al. Honor George C. Wolfe with SDC 'Mr. Abbott' Prize
Click Here to Play!


About the Author

Get Author Alerts
The all new 20th Anniversary Season of Broadway Beat is here! Broadway Beat is the premier, award-winning half hour television program covering theatre, music and performers. Each week, the show's popular and knowledgeable host, Richard Ridge, takes you behind-the-scenes for a look at the very best of New York Theatre - on Broadway, and beyond. The show always features beautiful footage shot by video veteran Bradshaw Smith. Broadway Beat takes you from the rehearsal studios to opening nights, including in-depth interviews with Tony Award winning stars and directors. Broadway Beat is your front row seat to all the music, all the magic, and all of the magnificent drama that is Broadway.