35MM Cast Recording Receives August Digital Release, September in Stores

35MM Cast Recording Receives August Digital Release, September in Stores

Producer John Johnson announced today that the debut album from composer Ryan Scott Oliver, 35MM: A Musical Exhibition (Original Cast Recording), will be released digitally on Tuesday, August 14th by Ghostlight Records. The album will be available in stores on Tuesday, September 11th. (Pre-orders for the recording are now being taken at http://sh-k-boom.com/35mm.shtml.) An album release concert is being planned for mid-September, about which additional details will be announced shortly.

Boasting an entirely original score by Ryan Scott Oliver, inspired by the photography of Matthew Murphy, 35MM: A Musical Exhibition (Original Cast Recording) is born from an utterly singular collaboration between two emerging mega talents of different mediums. Oliver explains, “In 35MM, photos inspire songs. Sometimes the songs tell the stories of the photographs; other times the feeling, mood, or tone was captured; and in still others, the photographs are doorways into worlds by which a song comes to life. The collaboration was seamless and we hope it creates a new kind of link betweem music and image for all who hear it.”

35MM features twenty-two original songs, including “On Monday,” “The Party Goes With You,” “Leave Luanne,” “Why, Must We Tell Them Why?” “Cut You A Piece,” and “The Ballad Of Sara Berry,” performed by a cast of five rising stars, including Alex Brightman (Wicked), Ben Crawford (Shrek), Jay Armstrong Johnson (Hands on a Hard Body, Hair), Lindsay Mendez (Dogfight), and Betsy Wolfe (The Mystery of Edwin Drood, Everyday Rapture). The CD package contains a beautifully designed 48-page booklet, in which the original awe-inspiring photography that enraptured New York theatergoers through projections is featured, along with song lyrics and photos of the cast in performance. Listeners are able to virtually experience the show through this album.

Representing a collision of artistic disciplines as disparate as musical theater, photography, and pop/rock music, 35MM pushes the limits of self-expression to create an art form utterly its own. A collection of “snapshot stories” are woven together as each of the evening’s original songs is performed – with gusto and musical virtuosity – while the audience is immersed in stunning projections of the photography that inspired it. 35MM brings the connection between pleasures visual and aural into razor-sharp focus, creating a singular, multi-sensory emotional journey.

35MM features Music Direction by Michael Borth, and a band that includes Matt Hinkley on Acoustic/Electric Guitars, Allison Seidner on Cello, Rich Silverstein on Keyboard, Yuiko Kamakari on Violin/Viola, Joseph Wallace on Bass, and Jeremy Yaddaw on Drums/Percussion.

The complete track list of 35MM: A Musical Exhibition (Original Cast Recording) is as follows:

1. Stop Time
2. Crazytown
3. Transition 1
4. On Monday
5. Caralee
6. The Party Goes With You
7. Good Lady
8. Transition 2
9. Make Me Happy
10. The Seraph
11. Immaculate Deception
12. Transition 3
13. Leave, Luanne
14. Mama, Let Me In
15. Why, Must We Tell Them Why
16. Twisted Teeth
17. Hemming and Hawing
18. Transition 4
19. Cut You a Piece
20. Transition 5
21. The Ballad of Sara Berry
22. Finale

The original cast recording of 35MM was produced by Dean Sharenow and Ryan Scott Oliver. John Johnson served as Associate Producer. It was recorded and mixed by Dean Sharenow, mastered by Scott Hull at Masterdisk, NYC, and mixed at Steel Cut Audio, NYC. The album was recorded at Sear Sound, NYC in February, 2012.

The recent, sold-out production of 35MM at Brookyln’s Galapagos Arts Space was presented by John Johnson and Very Intense Productions in association with Angelina Burnett, Tom & Renee Christina, Diane Finston, Michael Seel and Van Patten Media.


Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...