2011 Awards Season Articles
Click Here for More Articles on 2011 Awards Season...

2010-11 Theatre World Award Winners Announced - Barkin, Hemingway, Larroquette, Miller, Quinto, Sheldon, Motherf**cker & More

The Lunt-Fontanne Award for Ensemble Excellence goes to an outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway ensemble. The award is bestowed upon the named ensemble by writer-director-teacher Aaron Frankel and the Theatre World Awards in honor of the late Alfred Lunt and Lynn Fontanne. Mr. Frankel is a founding member of the Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers and a past Chairman and President of that organization’s foundation. He is also the author of “Writing the Broadway Musical” (revised and updated in 2000). Alfred Lunt and Lynn Fontanne are considered the greatest acting couple in the history of the American stage. They met and first acted together in 1919 and married in 1922. After 1928, neither appeared separately on stage again. Of their more than two dozen performances as a team, some of their best known works include The Guardsman, Design for Living, Amphitryon 38, There Shall Be No Night, The Taming of the Shrew, O Mistress Mine and their final work on Broadway, The Visit. They were uniquely versatile actors and known for their dedication to perfection. Other actors felt honored to work in their ensemble company.

The Theatre World annual remains the definitive record of the American theatre season, including photos and statistics from Broadway, Off-Broadway, Off-Off Broadway, and regional companies, in addition to special sections dedicated to obituaries, long-running productions, and major theatrical awards. Theatre World is edited by Ben Hodges and Scott Denny, and published by Applause Theatre and Cinema Books, a division of Hal Leonard Performing Arts Publishing Group. Theatre World Volume 66: 2009-2010, now more complete than ever and with over 900 photos is currently available at all booksellers and online.

The Theatre World Award Board of Directors is: Barry Keating (President and Director), Erin Oestreich (Vice-President and Producer), Jon Lonoff (Treasurer), Cara Lustik (Secretary), Mary K. Botosan (Producer), Vern T. Calhoun, Dorothy W. Kopelman, Tom Lynch (Founding Board member), Kati Meister (Executive Producer), Sal Scamardo, and Jane Stuart. For more information about the Theatre World Awards (including a list of past recipients), please visit: theatreworldawards.org. The TWA Board also encourages theater lovers to “LIKE” the Theatre World Awards fan page on Facebook.

Photo Credit: Walter McBride/WM Photos

« Page 1

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts